Sugar High!

I have been pretty strict about what Little OL eats.  She has never really had chocolate or sweets and even at her first birthday party when I had them in the party packs she was not given them.  Wicked mommy I know.

She had her first cupcake a last weekend and a marshmallow a while back.  Generally she only eats a bit and then wants fruit or raisins anyway.

On Tuesday night I decided to walk with her to the corner shop.  She loves going for a walk and holding my hand and seeing all the dogs and birds and things in the street.  I did not need anything but though I would buy her a Chomp.  We walked there, I bought the chomp and we walked home.  I let her carry the Chomp home, and it broke in two from being slightly manhandled. When we got home I gave her the smaller of the two pieces.  I figured a little bit would not harm her – she is 21 months now.

OH MY GOOD GLORY!!!!  That was at about 5:30pm.  At 7 pm (standard bed time) I tried to get her to go to bed – it was going well, until she suddenly started bouncing – literally – on her bed.  Saying “ump, ump mummy, ump, ump”.  Translation – Jump, Jump!  Normally she will moan a bit and then go down – or hand us her bottle say “ni, ni” wave and that is it.  Not that night.  She said Ni,ni. And then again and again.  She would get up and run around her room, climb in her cupboard and laugh.  If I went back in the room she would run and cuddle me and kiss.  Mr OL came home and asked if she had had sugar or something?  Uhhhh, oops.  Yes.  We eventually got her down at about 8:30!

At 1am she woke up again and repeated the above.  She was laughing and wanting to play. She was kissing and cuddling and being generally very cute.  But it was so not appreciated.  1 am is BED TIME.  This carried on till after 4am.  Yes, for 3 hours she was trying to bounce on her bed and on me.  All she wanted to do was “ump, ump”.  At 4 I sms’d my sister and told her I was not going to be able to meet her for a cycle and went and got a Little OL a bottle of milk.  That worked (for a while) and she went to sleep.  Waking again at 6:30 – with a very interesting hair style.

Bad Hair Day!

All I can say is that she is NEVER EVER having chocolate or sweets again – EVER!  She only crashed at 3pm on Wednesday afternoon – 20hours after having the chocolate. 

Breakfast on the counter waiting!

When I plan on going cycling at 4am I pack and prepare everything the night before.  This day it did not get used!

Lord help me when she starts Day Care next year – at the moment I have total control

9 Responses

  1. Candy for breakfast! Every day! I kept my kids off sugar for as long as I could, too. Mostly because I don’t like to share my treats.

  2. I can always tell when Gem has had sugar too, as she also sky rockets all over the place! She is allowed sweets (but not very many….)I remember once when I had gone up to visit Shayne and we were selling cupcakes, Gem ate about a quarter of a cupcake and just the icing, and same thing! Running around like a loony! Its amazing how they react to it.

  3. Very interesting. Choc does nothing to my kids.

  4. Generally chocolate seems worse than other sweets. You will have to slowly get some sugar into her other wise school will be a horror. We have obe day a week where they can have sweets and then, if they have eaten exceptionally well the night. The full (food) tummies seem to counter the sugar well.

  5. I realise that you’re not going to believe me, but speaking as a scientist (and a parent of two young kids) for a moment, there’s actually no such thing as a “sugar high” in kids. Seriously. Scientific studies have been done and it simply doesn’t exist. It’s a myth.
    http://wendyzukerman.com/2009/09/stopping-the-hype-do-kids-get-high-from-sugar/

  6. 6000 – You are right, I am not going to believe you although I previously would have, I watched a BBC program where the debunked the myth, showing it was the entertainment and environment more than the sugar. I totally believed it….

    That was until my daughter started bouncing off the walls for 20hours straight. She has not done it before or since.

    Saying that however, she does have sugar in other items, ie ice cream and there is no difference. It must be something in the chomp. I am not taking any chances though and NO chocolate till she is 18!

  7. Wow! I remember the first time my kids had sweets… it was both fascinating and terrifying to watch! But I agree with Cat.. best to s l o w l y ween them onto a little bit before school starts. There is always something going on with kids bringing in birthday treats and holiday sweets, etc… Imagine being the teacher of a bunch of kids on a sugar high! Yikes!!

  8. Over the holidays I have been gently easing into it. Thankfully no more reactions, but when I say easing I mean really gently. She had two smarties the other day.

I would love to hear from you

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

