Mirror, mirror on the wall

Weight vs body image is a funny thing.

I have never been on a diet and I have never been too concerned about my weight.  I have never really thought of myself overweight, even if at times the scale has edged towards that direction.  If I have ever thought that I did need to lose a few kg’s it was more along the lines that needed to tone up than actually lose weight.  That is not to say that my weight did not (does not) fluctuate.  It is just that I did not really notice it.

That is until now, and it is odd!  My weight is the lowest it has been in nearly 12 years, so why on earth do I now feel the most self-conscious about it?

At the end of November my sister decided she was cutting sugar out of her diet.  Not to lose weight, but to see if it made a difference on race day, when she had the sports drinks. Kind of like an extra boost.  She challenged me to do the same.

I thought it was a great idea, but decided that I probably needed to cut a few other things out my diet too, like take-aways, white bread and chocolate.  The sugar thing did not last past day 2, but I stuck to the others.  Who know I ate that much junk!!!  I lost 7kg in 3 months.  Just to put this into perspective.  I am not dieting, I have not changed anything else just those three things.  I still drink full cream milk and have full cream yogurt.  I still have butter on just about everything.

The thing is before I started I did not even think I needed to lose 7 kgs!  Now though I keep thinking I should lose a few more!  Not enough to actually drink skim milk though.

4 Responses

  1. I am taking note. I seriously need to loose weight but dieting doesn’t work for me. I also think I need to cut back on white bread and all the extra carbs.

  2. Oh wow! Carbs are my problem too…when I stop them, the weight just falls off…I just cant keep it up! What did u give up…all carbs, or just the bad ones?

  3. Being healthy is always better than thin and what you are cutting out sounds like being healthy so it must be great.

I would love to hear from you

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

