I (almost) wish I was there

Ironman fever has hit PE – again.  Race week always has such a great vibe, so much so that it makes me almost wish I had entered.  Not quite but almost.

At least this year I will be doing the Corporate Challenge.  It is 10% of the full Ironman, so even shorter than a sprint at 380m swim, 18km cycle and a 4.2km run, but at least it is something and I get to run down the finishers chute – if I finish of course.

This year both my brother and my sister will be taking part.  It will be my sister’s 5th Ironman and my brother’s first.  It would have been absolutely amazing to stand on the start with both my siblings, but I know I am not in the right time in my life to be doing a full ironman.  It takes so much commitment and with Little OL my priorities are elsewhere.  I will however be down there at the start and supporting them both the entire day.  I love the atmosphere, the vibe and the energy.  I will be crying with emotion and screaming with excitement for all the atheletes.  I know what it is like.  It is the most unbelievable feeling in the world.

So to everyone taking part on Sunday – you have all my support and best wishes and just remember ENJOY

Finishing Ironman South Africa in 2009

5 Responses

  1. Right now I’m starting to build up to the Knysna Forest 21 and I’m still way off, so I don’t even think of doing an Ironman.

  2. Sorry, I have no idea what happened with that last comment. I tried, then tried again by pasting the last one and still nothing. Anyway, I’m starting to train for the Knysna Forest 21 and is still way off, so a Ironman isn’t even in my mind

  3. Hi Pam , you are an inspiration . Just found your blog today, love all your blogs, you are one talented lady! Cheers Sam

  4. […] I (almost) wish I was there […]

I would love to hear from you

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

