Airlines and Teddy Bears – a 4th Birthday party

And just like that she was 4!

I know parents say this all the time but wow. Time really does fly.

When we first started discussing themes for her 4th party, Little OL was very into aeroplanes so I began the planning early.  Unfortunately she saw the photos of her 2nd birthday party (teddy bears picnic) and said she wanted teddy bears again.  As I had already organised some of the stuff (and really wanted to do aeroplanes) we compromised.  I put teddy bears in the aeroplanes…. It worked quite well.

So, the theme of her party was and Airline theme (with teddy bears as the pilots)  Here are a few photos

I created the invitation using a template  I found HERE.  I also made the cover, but forgot to take a photo of that.  I created the logo on Inkscape, using an image from HERE

Boarding Pass Invitation

I think just Goggled and checked Pinterest for the rest of the ideas. Here is the link to my Pinterest Board.

 

Baggage Claim

Baggage Claim

I really wanted those old fashioned brown cardboard school suitcases that we used to have and thought I might find some when the “back to school” stuff was out, but no joy.  In the end I found this little lunch boxes and fortunately in the colours I wanted so I bought them.  (Pick n Pay)

 

Cupcakes with marshmallow clouds

Cupcakes with marshmallow clouds

The cupcakes were a disaster, but thank fully with the icing and the best out of 5 batches I managed to get enough.

 

Cake with Teddy Pilot

Cake with Teddy Pilot

The cake went a lot better – I used my favourite cake recipe, the Rainbow cake from the Whisk Kid, but only used shades of pink this time (once again, I forgot to take a photo of the inside).

 

Aeroplane Cookies

Aeroplane Cookies

I also made teddy bear biscuits to go alongside the planes, but Little OL ate them before the party……

Delicious Aeroplane food....

Delicious Aeroplane food….

 

For the adults Mr OL made some awesome sandwiches.  We did Chicken or Beef , poor  Mr OL kept asking if he couldn’t do some salami or ham etc and I insisted it had to be Chicken or Beef…. LOL.  I did do a few vegetarians ones though.

I made a few different signs and added in a few extra elements, like globes, Captain’s hat etc and all in all I am very happy with how the party turned out but, there are a few things I have decided.  From now on we will not be having the party at home. As the kids get older they need more entertainment (and space) and I will also be outsourcing some stuff.  I will not be making cupcakes etc next year.  I probably won’t bake the cake either, although I might make the topper (I enjoy that part)

 

12 Responses

  1. My wife is heavily into doing all these bells and whistles when it comes to parties, cakes and invites so I just had to show it to her when you posted it on FB. She was like “WOW!!!!!”

    Well done!

    • lol, thanks. I am not so sure I would go to so much effort if I had more than one child. I love doing it, but once a year is enough.

  2. Wow, what a fantastic party! Love the theme!

  3. Beautiful! Happy birthday Babby OL:-)

  4. I loooooveeee the theme!!!

    ESP the baggage claim :) I still have my old brown suitcase from when I was a child!

    Funny you’re saying no more parties at home. I said no more venue parties after last year. I love the home feel. The crazy for 2 hours and then it’s done. Mind you, we have winter babies so inside is cosier :)

    • I have done the 1st 4 at home, and this year it felt insane. And I did not even think I had that many kids there. I will give the venue thing a try and see how I feel about that.

  5. What an awesome theme. I love that little OL ate the teddy bear biscuits before the party. 4 years have really gone by quickly.

    PS…we really should meet for coffee.

  6. Beautiful!!!!! You need to add party planning to your business!

    I am stealing this idea for sure.

    Love it

    • Thank you. I think I will keep this just for fun. Its hard work and my hat goes off to anybody that does it as job (I used to….)

I would love to hear from you

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

