Posted in Cycling, Running, Swimming

Triathlon

On Saturday it is the first triathlon of the series and I am very excited.  There are two distances but I have decided to do the shorter.  At least this way when I finish last it will not be so obvious.  The people from the longer distance will still be coming in so spectators might just think I have done the longer race.  Although I am sure that they would realize pretty quickly that I did not.  I mean hopefully it is the top guys that are finishing the longer race as I finish the shorter and not the tail-enders.  If it is the tail-enders then I am in serious trouble.

 

With triathlon there are a number of different distances that you can do.  Here is a summary:

 

Sprint distance, which is the one that I plan on doing on Saturday. 

750m Swim

20km Bike Ride

5 Km Run

 

Olympic distance, this is exactly double the distance of the sprint and surprise, surprise it is the distance they do in the Olympics. 

1500m Swim

40 Km Bike

10 Km Run

This is the one that I hope to do later on in the season.

 

70.3 (or Half Ironman); it is called a 70.3 because that is what the total mileage adds up

            1.9km Swim

            90km Bike

            2.1km Run

 

And then there is Ironman

3.8km Swim

180 km Bike Ride

42.2 Km Run

            This is what I am ultimately training for and the race is on 5 April 2009.  It will be my second one as I finished my first one in March 2007.

 

Besides all of these standard distances there are variations.  The Engergade Triathlon Series is based on the Sprint Distance, but the swim is shorter.  The Corporate Ironman is exactly 10% of the total Ironman, so 380m swim, 18 km bike ride and 4.2 km run.  In some events it is also possible to do sections as part of a team. 

 

As well as all the above events which are held on the roads, there are off road triathlons.  Here the bike is a mountain bike section and the run is a trail run.

 

This is why I love triathlon.  There are distances to suit every body and there is a great camaraderie amongst the competitors. Most people cheer each other on or assist where possible.  

13 thoughts on “Triathlon

  1. Love the new blog – Much better than IBLOG. I have been struggling to read any of the Blogs I usually read and am really starting to get p@@@@d off!!

    Well done to you for moving to wordpress!

    Regards

    Debbie

  2. 6000 – I would mention the petrol price etc, but with the amount I spend on energy supplements just to keep myself going I don’t think it works out any cheaper.

    Debbie – Thanks for the comment and glad you followed the link across. I hope this one works out better.

  3. I am not sure, but I have been having serious trouble with it lately. Today was the first day I have been able to access it in a while.

    I have been thinking about moving for a bit and after last week decided that now was the time. It is sad though, when you consider how much history is on that blog. I will keep it open for a while with a link to this one.

    Thanks for updating your blogroll.

  4. Awesome! Something for everyone–I couldn’t agree more. As for the great kid debate–it’s not a rational decision. There’s never a good time. That’s one decision made with pure heart…sort of like deciding to do an Ironman.

  5. Hi Rachel.

    I suppose my problem is that it is one or the other. At the moment I really want to do Ironman in April, but I also realise that at 36 that clock is ticking! LOUDLY.

    For now I am going to carry on with the training and what ever happens happens.

  6. Hi

    Yeah ur old blog had hectic downtime. Good u got a new1.

    Yes,1st tri saturday!cant wait!and our whole team is gona b doin it. I’m also only goin4the sprint distance.hope the weather holds out.it waz a bit windy last week.

    Did u hear armstrong is doin tdf 2009.he says he got his drive2win bak wen he did a hectic mtb race. Ironically, rynard did a mtb race this weekend in longmore. I got it the wrong way around coming from mtb’n to tri.

    Anyway.cu saturday.il b the 1 u pass 🙂

  7. SA, so if you recongnise me you had better come over and say hi!

    yes, I heard that Armstrong was going back into racing – for nothing – no payment or anything!!! I have seen Tissink do a MTB triathlon before – which he won! Infact on the cycle he rode out, then back to tell the organisers that one of the gates were locked, rode back out, passed everyone else and then still won it!!!

    At least with having done Mtb you will have strong legs for the cycle!

  8. That’s hectic of Tissink. Awesome.

    It must be wierd that you don’t know how the people look who read your blog 🙂 I wonder how many people are going to be there saturday. I know of at least 15 people who will be doing it. Now it’s just if they still actually do it. I’ll give you a wave if I see you, If I recognise you.

  9. It is quite odd that I don’t know who reads my blog and it does not usually bother me, unless I think it might be someone I know. It is also weird when they (you) are from my same home town and do the same sports as me but I don’t know their names. I know of at least 3 people from PE that read it but I know their names, although I have never met them.

    Of my group of friends there are 4 of us going to do it. We have decided that if it is cancelled we are just going to do it ourselves. Leave our bikes in our cars etc. Unless of course it is cancelled due to the weather.

I would love to hear from you

