Posted in Office, Ordinarylife, Port Elizabeth, Uncategorized, Work

Give to receive

You know sometimes when you hear something you think “what rubbish”, “yeah right” or “whatever”.  Well there is a saying somewhere that says “you must give to receive” or “the more you give the more you receive” or something like that.

 

I have heard this on numerous occasions and never really paid much attention to it.  Until now!

 

I have mentioned before that the company I work with has “adopted” a cottage at one of the children’s homes in this area, and one of the things we all have to do is “volunteer” there.  Once a month we are given the afternoon off to go and assist the children with their homework. 

 

Well I have been amazed at how much I have enjoyed this, so much so that I go quite a bit more than once a month.  In fact a couple of times I have been to their school functions and fashion shows on the weekends and so have built up quite a good relationship with the kids. 

 

Then yesterday I was in a bad mood – to say the least.  I was not a happy camper!  So what did I do, I went to the Children’s Home during my lunch break.  I knew that they would cheer me up. And they did.  There is nothing like feeling that you are appreciated.  When I arrive there they are happy to see me and smothered me in hugs and kisses.  There is no way that you can be in a bad mood or feel miserable after that.  So in this case I received!

 

6 thoughts on “Give to receive

  1. 6000- Thanks
    Steve – Good to see you at my blog, I love yours.
    Hanlie – it is very rewarding isn’t it.
    Diane. – the company I work for is great when it comes to this kind of thing. The CEO is very involved in the community and various projects.
    Jennifer. Thanks

I would love to hear from you

