Posted in Cycling, Family, Hobie Beach, Ordinarylife, Port Elizabeth, Swimming, Training, Triathlon, Uncategorized, Windsurfing

There is no such thing as bad weather?

It is amazing how the sport that you do affects how you feel about the weather.

 

At about 4 am on Wednesday I woke up to very strong winds.  I lay in bed thing, “Damn it’s windy”.  I knew my brother on the other hand was probably also lying awake in bed listening to the wind, but he would have had the complete opposite thoughts to me.  He would have been rejoicing and hoping that it kept up.  I wanted to go cycling, he however had entered a windsurfing competition.

 

 

He is probably the more sensible sibling.  I mean what where my sister and I thinking – we live in PE after all, which besides being known as the Friendly City is also known as the Windy City. 

 

After my botched attempt a few weeks ago at trying to cancel on a sea swim I decided that this year I am not going to be the first one to bail on anything.  I will not be the first to cancel a ride due to the weather and I am not going to be the first one to cancel on a swim due to rough seas, an easterly or any other reason (besides maybe spotting a big fin gliding past).  So there I was lying in bed, listening to the wind howling and praying that someone would sms me and tell me the ride was cancelled.  There was NO way I was going out in gale force conditions; I just did not want to be the first one to cancel.  Well we were all thinking the same thing.  I waited for as long as I thought possible and then sent out an enquiring sms to see what other’s points of view were.  As I pressed send and sms came through saying the ride was cancelled.  So at least I was not first….

 

The wind was actually so strong that they could not hold the windsurfing comp in PE either and took it out to Canon Rocks near Alexandria.  Then I knew it must be bad!!!

 

My brother in Hawaii
My brother in Hawaii
A friend sailing in PE
A friend sailing in PE

 

My brother in PE
My brother in PE
4 thoughts on “There is no such thing as bad weather?

  1. I agree, they were pretty bad.

    It is actually a Scandanavian saying – There is no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothing!! Or something like that.

I would love to hear from you

