Posted in Family, Ironman, Ocean Racing Series, Ordinarylife, Port Elizabeth

How much is too much?

For those of you who have blogs how much information about yourself are you willing to divulge.  And are there certain things you would never discuss?  What topics are out of bounds?  Are you willing to put pictures of yourself on your blog and what about pictures of your friends and family – or do you ask their permission first.

 

When I first started my blog I tried not to give much away, I never mentioned my name or showed photos.  That was until I realized there was no need for my name or picture to give it away.  So then why was I keeping it anonymous???  Even so I was still a bit apprehensive about putting my picture up.  I was even more apprehensive about putting my family’s pictures on.  If I did I would always block their faces.  I was not sure how they would react if one of their friends found this blog reported back to them.  I am still a bit apprehensive about putting anyone else’s picture on besides mine. 

 

I guess as time has gone by I have become more open as to who I am, I also have noticed that the blogs I read are ones where I know the writers name and what they look like.  Did you all start off giving this information right from the start or did you give away more the longer you had your blog?

 

Now a bit off the topic:

 

Having the blog and the fact that it was so public has never really bothered me.  I guess I just lived in a little ignorant (on purpose) world where I though nobody would find it.  I did not (and still have not) told many of my friends about it.  I did tell my family and although I know Mr Ordinary has looked at it from time to time I don’t think many of my other family members are that interest.

 

I have also never had a problem thinking that strangers are reading it.  I suppose I am more worried about people that know me or at least know who I am or could figure it out?  Especially when I look at how people have found it lately, using searches on Google like: Ocean Racing Series; Ironman and the Clover 10km (yes I am talking about you SA).  PE is not that big and especially with events like these you tend to know someone that knows somebody.  I feel a bit unsettled that I might be talking to somebody at one of these events and they know that I forgot to shave my legs.  Not that I am saying that I don’t want people reading my blog – far from it.  I guess what I am saying is that if you are reading my blog COMMENT!!! I want to know who you are too.  At least then I won’t bore you in conversation with stuff that you have already read about.

10 thoughts on “How much is too much?

  1. That’s exactly what I’m thinking about… I don’t mind so much what people read on my blog (they’re like friends), but I worry about google searches. I regret using my last name. I suppose I can always go and find it and delete it.

    Other than that, I don’t discuss my sex life and too many personal details about my family.

    My family is not online and my husband has probably forgotten by now that I even HAVE a blog. A few of my real life friends read my blog and I’m comfortable with that.

  2. I always comment, if I have something worthwhile to say, and the chances of you ever meeting me in PE is less than zero, so keep writing! 😉

  3. I don’t think I have tried to be anonymous on my blog…but don’t have my name all over it. I use my husband and kid’s names openly though. I guess if my boss ever found it, he would be a bit unhappy with some of the things I have written about, but I have not said anything that would get me fired either. I don’t worry about crazy people finding me or my family – they can do that without the internet, you know?

  4. Hiya, I ran a blog a for a year and innocently put too much out there so i deleted it and started again. I am still pretty open and share bits and pieces but am more guarded than I used to be.

    I never expected the readership of my first blog to grow to such proportions as I started it purely for friends and family abroad.

    Good to find another SA blogger!

  5. Hanlie – I also try not to discuss things that I feel are too personal. I am worried about what people who know me might learn! Or people who know people who know me! In PE that is not hard, everyone knows someone how knows you!
    ICE – I love getting your comments!
    Charlise – Yip, I agree – if people wanted to find me they could whether I had a blog or not.
    Melody – thanks for visiting and commenting. I don’t think I have put tooo much info just yet as I am pretty wary about what I put. I just have to keep reminding myself that anyone can read what I wrote and would my husband / family be happy with what I wrote if they read it?
    Lifeblogger – its one that has been bugging me for a while?
    Chronic – So far so good – thanks for stopping by.

  6. I know where you are and I know you’re on your own.

    Sorry – just singing along with a song on the radio there. I try to keep most personal detail down to a minimum. But you can find out virtually anything via the interwebs. So I know your name and you Clover 10km time. And people know loads about me, despite the fact I don’t give too much away on the 6000 miles…site.

    I was going to offer a facebook friendship, but then I’d have to divulge more info about me. And you’d probably say no anyway.

  7. 6000 – Yikes! Oh, ok just a song – you had me worried for a bit.

    I have noticed you keep info down to a minimum – except for the links (like Flickr). But yes, if people wanted to they could find out who you are.

    I think a lot of people give stuff away inadvertantly, I for one did not realise that my surname came up on my initial email address. I have now changed that a few months ago but anyone who commented and I replied or where I commented on their sites knows my maiden name.

  8. I have my full name and a link to my email on mine so I guess I’m not shy about people knowing who I am! What’s funny though is that I’ve met people at races who didn’t know me by anything but Roo! It’s kind of fun having this other persona.

    I was a little worried when my parents started reading because, as you know, I’ll write about anything as long as I think it wouldn’t hurt someone’s feelings. They don’t mind the bluntness though. They seem to kind of get a kick out of it!

I would love to hear from you

