Posted in Cycling, Ironman, Ordinarylife, Training, Triathlon

Please fit, please fit, please fit

Yay!!!  My (hopefully, soon to be) bike is ready and at the shop!  Whoo hoo!  Can you tell I am excited???

 

I am going at lunch time to go and see if it will fit me and set it up.  Which means I will have it for the rides this weekend!!!

 

Only problem is that now the doubt is beginning to creep in a bit.  I am not the best cyclist (to say the least) but at least on the bike I have at the moment I don’t look out of place, and if I do manage to overtake somebody there is an enormous sense of joy, especially if they have a really zooty bike.  Now I will be that person on the zooty bike getting lapped?  Not good.  People will laugh?  Or think I am stupid for paying this amount of money when I can’t ride all that well?

 

Then there is also the cash situation.  Both my husband and I work either in the automotive industry, or at a company highly reliant on the automotive industry and as we all know the automotive industry is not doing so lekker (well) at the moment?  Am I being stupid for spending my savings on a bike when we don’t really know what next year holds?

 

As I said doubts????

 

Then again maybe I just think too much (is that possible) and should just put my cash down and get the bloody bike (which is what I am going to do) and worry about all the other stuff if it happens?  It is a fantastic, fantastic, fantastic price and my dream bike.  I have been staring at pictures of it since it came out in December last year but never in my widest dreams did I think there was ever a possibility that I could ever own one???? 

 

So doubts aside, this is my only thought for the day “please fit, please fit, please fit” I do think it is a bit ironic though that I am praying for an XS to fit when in clothing I wear an L or M???  When did a XS ever fit me – NEVER!

9 thoughts on “Please fit, please fit, please fit

  1. Hanlie – thanks, except I got there and they said “did nobody phone you we are on our way out to an expo, can you come back tomorrow????????” I was not impressed (serious understatement). So now I have to go through all the stress tomorrow again. Not to mention that the shop is an hour round trip from where I work.

  2. A whole hour? Can you go that far in PE?

    From your recent posts, I would say that the cost of a new bike could easily be offset against emergency medical costs.

    But don’t get it if it’s too small. You’ll look like a clown.

    Hanlie: Yes, but look at the Government… Just… look.

  3. 6000 – well I do drive pretty slowly (but then so does everybody else). And yes, it might work out cheaper to get the bike in the long run.

I would love to hear from you

