Posted in Ordinarylife

Why I don’t set resolutions

I did not and don’t usually make New Year’s Resolutions.  I would be hopeless at keeping them, so I don’t really see the point.

 

However, if I had set Resolutions this year these are what I would wanted to have set.

 

·         Floss teeth EVERY day, not just when you remember or when it feels like something is stuck.

·         Moisturise face AND body– also EVERY day, not just when your skin feels a bit dry.  And – I know this is pushing it – in the evenings too!!!

·         Be more patient

·         Eat more fruit and veg!  More potatoes to not count as more veg.

 

So how would I have done if I had set these New Year’s Resolutions?  No surprises, I would have failed miserably.  The only one I would have stuck to so far was the last one.  I have eaten A LOT more fruit and veg.  I have made a big fruit salad every day and we are also having a huge salad with dinner every night.  Yum, yum! 

 

This has however had one unexpected, negative (sort of) consequence.  All this healthy eating has dropped my blood pressure, which was not exactly high in the first place.  On Monday afternoon I ended up at my Doctor’s office on a drip to try and get it back to a point of where I could actually see and function.  Not a pleasant experience.  I am obviously going to persevere with the healthy options and just hope that my body adjusts.  Today, it feels like its usual self again.  Thankfully this does not happen often.  In fact I was trying to remember when last it happened.  hmmm – about 8 months ago, last time I decided to go all healthy.  Clearly my body does not know what to do it when it gets a sudden hit of fresh foods.  I did not think that we ate that badly ………

 

I also asked the doctor if it could be related to the training as I had gone for a long run on Monday morning before work, but he said he did not think so.  He just advised that I took a couple of days rest, which I did. 

7 thoughts on “Why I don’t set resolutions

  1. Flossing… something I always mean to do!

    One of my resolutions is to actually moisturize less, but it’s a long story and I won’t bore you with it. Three words though which will change your life – Oil Cleansing Method.

    Patience takes a while to acquire. In essence you’ll just have to be patient…

    WTG on the fruit and veg! Obviously your body is adjusting, because F&V will usually normalize blood pressure.

    You probably needed the rest anyway…

  2. Hayley – this time I am going to perservere! At least for now.
    6000 – I am NOT popping my clogs just yet. But that has got me thinking. Who would I give it too???
    Hanlie – Read your blog a while back about the oil cleasing. Interesting. I think for now I am going to try and stick to the moisturiser (mostly because my day one contains sunscreen)

  3. I like your resolutions, Pamela. I think I’ll make them mine. Low blood pressure… I have the same problem, especially when I work out a lot. Your body must be missing something from your “other” diet; combine the two! Wishing you lots of GREAT health in this new year.

  4. I have low blood pressure issues particularly during my pregnancies and when I was kickboxing. My doc just told me to drink more water and to carry a Ziploc of fruit/nut mixture with me all the time.

    Hope you feel better real soon!

I would love to hear from you

