Posted in Cycling, Ironman, Ordinarylife, Port Elizabeth, Training, Triathlon, weather

Please turn on the light!

The sun is rising later and later in the mornings and it is NOT nice.  Especially not when you are on your bike and you can’t see where the heck you are going!  Being night blind does not help at all.  This morning it was pitch dark when we started riding, but I suppose, what was I expecting at 4:30 in the morning! 

 

I suppose I was expecting it to stay lighter earlier a bit longer.  I did not want to even think about it being dark in the mornings but generally that is what happens after the 21 December and before the 21 June.  The days get shorter and shorter. 

 

It is still getting light just after 5 so I should be happy with that and I did have my bike lit up like a Christmas tree this morning so I was prepared.  I suppose the only thing I was not prepared for was the rain.  Just when I was thinking I was getting used to the dark it started to rain too.  Humph!  Raining and Dark, not a good combination.  But once it got lighter I actually started enjoying it – rain and all. 

 

The dark is one thing I am going to have to get used to though if I want to continue training in the mornings and let’s face it, I don’t really have a choice on that one.  If I want to ride at least 3 – 4 times a week quite a few of my rides are going to have to be before work. 

6 thoughts on “Please turn on the light!

  1. We were walking in the rain yesterday morning! And I was wearing glasses…

    Did you get my email about the third interview question? I’m want to do the interview tomorrow…

  2. You need windscreen wipers for your glasses. At least I dont’ have that problem to worry about. It does make things challenging.

    I don’t usually mind if the rain starts when I am riding, but I really battle to go out if it is raining before I start!

  3. Wow – it gets light at 5am there?! Right now it doesn’t get light until nearly 7am here. I know, I hate the darkness as well. Glad you enjoyed the rain, I like riding in the rain too as long as it is not cold! 🙂

  4. Charisa -at least you are going to be getting lighter and lighter. We are just going to get darker and darker. By the time June comes round it will be light only after 7. At least it is not cold her at the moment.

I would love to hear from you

