Posted in Cycling, Family, Ironman, Ordinarylife, Port Elizabeth, Running, South Africa, Swimming, Training, Triathlon

Its a numbers game

7 weeks or 47 days

This is the amount of time I have left till race day.  Broken down it’s 3 more weeks of hard training, 1 week recover and then 3 weeks taper.  Yikes.  That means I only have 3 more long rides left.  After that they start getting shorter again.  This weekend we did 132km, with an average speed of 26km/hour.  We will probably do that twice more and also would like to do one of about 150km!  I also still have about 3 more long runs to do.  1 of those needs to be about 32km.

 

140.6 Miles or 226 km

This is the total distance I will travel on race day!  This is broken down into a 3.8km swim, a 180km bike ride and a 42.2km run! Have I done enough training to cover this distance comfortably? Let’s hope so!

 

1435km

That is the total distance I have covered on my new bike since December.  I am happy with that.

 

38km

That is the distance I ran last week- over 3 runs.  8 km in the 1st run, 10km in the 2nd run and 20km in the 3rd!  Yikes.  This week needs to be more.

 

And more important than all of those numbers is this number

 

43 

 

 the number of days till my sister gets here from England!  WOO HOO.

 

 

Me with my sister, brother and his fiance
Me with my sister, brother and his fiance
8 thoughts on “Its a numbers game

  1. RG – me too, except the last one.
    Charisa – I know, I am really excited to see her. She is also taking part but has been finding it really difficult to cycle in London because of the weather.
    Hanlie – mmm, nope, not so much. And yes, I beleive I am.
    Lynette – the are a bit scary when you see them like that.
    SA – ME NEITHER!!!!

  2. I think you can get your sister here more quickly and have a shorter triathlon if you swap those numbers around a bit.

    The downside is the 43 runs you have to do next week and the 226 days til the Ironman.

I would love to hear from you

