Posted in Cycling, Ironman, Ordinarylife, Running, Swimming, Training, Triathlon, Women

Just the way I am

The more I train for Ironman the more I realise that human body truly is an amazing thing. 

 

One of my training partners and I were talking about it on one of our long rides.  Neither of us are elite athletes, neither of us were particular sporty at school (although we both did sports), neither of us are in our twenties and yet, here we where doing a 120km ride and enjoying it. 

 

When we started doing triathlons we both started with sprint distances (and start every season there because we are too lazy to train in winter) and boy oh boy does that feel far.  You wonder how on earth you ever did an Olympic distance the previous year, or how on earth you are ever going to fit enough to do one again.  Then with a little bit of work you get fitter.  Olympic distance still seems far but possible.  You are happy to stay at that distance….. Until you discover that slight glimmer of possibility somewhere in the back of your mind that says maybe, some day, not now, but some day, you might be able to do an Ironman?????  Maybe?  (you don’t say it out loud)   And at first you squish the thought, but it gets stronger, you meet more and more people doing it, some of your friends start training for one and finish successfully.  Surely if THEY can do it YOU can do it????

 

And the next thing you know that glimmer of possibility has become a bright blinding light.  You start researching training programs.  You go for that first ride and then another.  You pay your money and sign up and then wonder what the hell you were thinking!!!  But as each week goes by you get fitter and fitter. At first running 5km is a killer and you walk ½ of it!  But then few months later 10km is an easy run!  Your morning ride before work is 40 km and you look forward to the weekends when you can go longer.  You are astounded and start to believe that the human body truly is amazing!

 

I might not have the typically “perfect body”.  It has cellulite and slightly more fat than I would like.  There are stretch marks and scars but so what!  It can do amazing things, it can carry me distances I never thought possible and it can go faster than I ever dreamed and each day it just gets stronger!  As I said the human body truly is amazing – and this one is all mine and I am beginning to believe it is perfect for me!

6 thoughts on “Just the way I am

  1. Great post! You have done so much to inspire me, but never more so than with this post!

    My body surprises me every single day… I can’t believe I placed so many limitations on it for so long!

  2. Thanks for your input on my Choices post….I woudnt dream of giving up running. And this post just makes me more positive and inspired to carry on. My husband was a seasoned triathlete when I met him and had done the Ultra Man …but nothing done in the last 7yrs. I am hoping my training will spur him to action again.

    I am still at the 5km dream mark but plan to be running a comfy 10km in the next 2 months.

    Ironman is not in my vocab just yet…..

  3. I totally agree ! The other day I thought “oh, only a 12 miler on Sunday.” … to get to the point where 12 mi is a short long run is really cool. it’s amazing what our bodies can do, esp. when we set out to accomplish Something Big.

  4. Lynette – He sure knew what he was doing.
    RG – thanks
    Hanlie – Thanks, and good luck! You will be surprised by what you can do.
    Melody – Pleasure. My husband ran, and I am trying to get him to start doing that again. My training seems to have the opposite effect on him though. The more I do the less he does. 5km is how it starts…….
    Tricia – it is wierd isn’t it. My LONG run is now my short run. I laugh every time I say I am going for a short run.

I would love to hear from you

