Posted in Cycling, Ironman, Ordinarylife, Port Elizabeth, Running, Shark Rock Pier, South Africa, Swimming, Training, Triathlon, Wetsuit

This is my goal!

I am lacking motivation to blog at the moment.  Infact I think I am lacking motivation to do anything at the moment.  That is anything besides Ironman related stuff.  I said I was not going to let this take over my life but at the moment it is all I can think about! 

 

26 DAYS!!!!  Woo Hoo.

 

So please excuse me if this blog is a bit lack luster for the next month or so.

 

Training is tapering and excitement is growing……

 

I am already beginning to think of the transition bags, what to put in them, what to put in my special needs bags etc.  Actually who am I kidding, I am not “beginning” to think about it.  I have thought about it A LOT.

 

I will write a list later, just on the off chance that anybody is interested in what will keep me going on the day.

 

I have also begun to think about my goals. What time would I like to do?  I had one time in my mind when I started training for this year, but am readjusting it as my training has gone on.  I am just worried that I am putting too much pressure on myself.  Maybe I should keep my goal at what I originally set out to achieve.

 

Goal number one is obviously to finish – you never know what can happen on the day!  Then the initial time I wanted to do it in was 15 hours 30 minutes. 

 

But now………… I don’t know, should I leave my goal there, or move it.  Challenge myself a bit more.  The only problem then is if I don’t make my new goal I might be disappointed.  Or I might push myself to hard and bomb out totally.

 

Let me just write it down

 

New goal – when I am feeling optimistic

 

Swim – 1h30

Transition 1 – 15minutes  (these should not be this long, but it gives me time to play with)

Bike – 7 hours  (averaging at +/-26km/h)

Transition 2 – 15 minutes

Run – 5h30

 

This gives me a total of 14h30…………  So, I guess it is official (now that I have written it down).  I want to finish Ironman South Africa in under 14 and a half hours.  Unrealistic – I hope not!

12 thoughts on “This is my goal!

  1. This is so exciting. I wish you all the luck and I`m sure you`re gonna surprise yourself and nail the 14h30!

    I did my first run at altitude today and truth be told, it went much better than anticipated.

  2. Hey, found your blog off a post in BT about OWSing alone. I just have to send you my best wishes for your IM. South Africa, huh? That’s just gonna be beautiful.

    Well, take care, safe travels and happy training!

    lkagop on BT

  3. I got goosebumps reading that! SO FREAKING SOON!!! that’s so exciting ! I cannot wait to hear all about everything leading up to the race and I (for one, at least ;)) would love to hear what’s in your T bags and SN . wheeee!

  4. RG – I would not like to try this at altitude, I don’t think I would make 500m! Well done on your run.
    Hanlie – It is not live, but if you go onto http://ironman.com/ they usually have an athlete tracker section which runs in live time so you can get regular updates. They will broadcast it a couple of weeks after the event on Supersport.
    IM – Thanks for stoppping by.
    Tricia – I know, only 25 days!!! Yikes……..

  5. I am really excited about your Ironman, too!! Keep us posted when you can, but don’t feel guilty if you’re too busy training to write. I bet you’ll blow yourself away and beat your 14h30 goal!!! : )

I would love to hear from you

