Posted in Ordinarylife, Politics, South Africa

Simon says…..

It is not often that I write about stuff in the news or politics.  Something really has to get me all hot under the collar….. and now something has!

 

South Africa denied the Dalai Lama a visa to enter South Africa.  He was invited to be a guest speaker at a peace conference on ways to use football in the lead up to the 2010 World cup to help combat racism and xenophobia.  Ok, granted, I am not that sure what the Dalai Lama knows about football but to deny him a visa because “it is not in the best interests of the county”??? That I seriously don’t get.

 

What?? Is he a hardened criminal, has he committed atrocities to human kind, is he a known terrorist?  Oh, wait – no, if he was any one of the above he probably would have had no problem in getting a visa.  Mugabe is in and out all the time.  Is it because it might upset our “new best friend” the Chinese?? Yip, that is probably more likely…

 

I am saddened by our government’s stand – or none stand – on this issue!

 

HERE is a link to a report on this.

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Simon says…..

  1. I know! How insane. I got the press release from the conference organisers saying that he is no longer attending… it’s just madness… and completely embarrassing…

    sigh

  2. I actually don’t know how to feel about this; sadness, disappointment, embarrassment or pure frustration?

    You would think with the history of our country our government would be more willing to stand up for people who are standing up for their beliefs, independence and peace. But I suppose money talks…..

  3. I don’t have too much of a problem with this. The Government can choose who it lets in – a country’s borders are its to defend.
    Whatever your feelings, the guy has been responsible for thousands of deaths while he hides away in safety.

    No great loss. Storm in a teacup.

  4. I just don’t get why they invited him in the first place if they weren’t going to issue his visa. Typical SA politicians – don’t bloody know what they’re doing half the time.

  5. 6000 – it is not so much the person that they denied the visa to, more the fact that they bowed to pressure that annoys me.
    Shayne – I guess the organisers of the conference would never have guessed that his visa would have been denied…. I mean, look at who they usually let into the country!

I would love to hear from you

