Posted in Cycling, Ironman, Ordinarylife, Port Elizabeth, Shark Rock Pier, Swimming, Training, Triathlon, weather

Trust me, I’m the Weather Man????

So we are in our final week before Ironman South Africa.  6 More days!!!! 

 

And the panicked phone calls, sms’s and Facebook comments about the weather have started appearing.

 

Have you seen the 7 day forecast?  What’s the wind doing?  Oh my word is it true – 32 degrees?  It’s an East!!!!  And such like….

 

Well I was not going to look.  I had decided that there was nothing much I could do about the weather so I was not going to stress about it (just yet). I know the forecast changes by the hour and 6 days is a long time to be on a weather vigil. 

 

But it got to me – I succumbed to peer pressure and went online and looked.  Actually I “consulted” 3 different sites. 

 

So this is what I found out.  It might be anywhere between 28 and 34 degrees maximum.  The wind might blow, if it does it might be anywhere between 7 knots and 25 knots.  The direction might be a South East or North West???  And the weather man knows nothing.

 

The only thing they all seem to have in common is that it is going to be hot, LOTS of sunscreen is going to be necessary, there is no rain forecast and there is going to be a light wind, the direction of which is questionable.

 

I suppose at least the light wind might cool us down….. 

11 thoughts on “Trust me, I’m the Weather Man????

  1. Hello Pamiejane. Thanks for visiting my blog today. It seems like you have your work cut out for you with this Iron man competition. Good luck!! I hope you do extremely well.

  2. It could be good or it could be bad. Or possibly somewhere in between.
    To be fair, the SA weather service does claim that it’s forecast (partly coudy and 30C, wind 20km NW turning 35km SW) has only 50% accuracy at the moment.
    It’s still 6 days away…

  3. Don’t trust the weatherman – internet or otherwise. They’re very rarely right. As anyway, what can you do about it – nada nothing. So focus on drinking enough and knowing that you’ve trained sufficiently and you WILL be fab.

  4. Charisa – something I must try and remember to do!
    RBR – thanks.
    Shayne – thanks, and I know. I am not going to stress about it. I have found one website where the weather looks very good, so am going to believe that one…. Luckily I have been training in all sorts so should be fine.

  5. I’ve been thinking so much about you these last few days… You must be getting so excited. I’ll check in with you every day for the next week or so, to find out how you’re feeling and what’s happening…

I would love to hear from you

