Posted in Cycling, Hiking Trails, Hobie Beach, Ironman, Ordinarylife, Port Elizabeth, Running, Shark Rock Pier, South Africa, Swimming, Training, Triathlon, Tsitsikamma Hiking Trail, weather, Wetsuit

Finally – some info on Ironman

The problem with being away from the internet for so long, especially when so much is going on that I want to write down everything but can’t. Also it would make for rather boring and confusing reading.

 

So, the summary is:

 

My sister arrived safe and sound.

I completed Ironman

I went hiking

 

Yes, this has been a busy week.

 

 

I will start with Ironman! 

 

WOOOO HOOOO, I think I am still grinning from ear to ear.  Although on the day before the race I was anything but grinning. Infact I was feeling rather panicked and nearly burst into tears! 

 

Everything was going fine; I did not think I was nervous at all.  I knew I had prepared well, my transition bags were almost packed and I had ticked most of the things of my to-do list and my sister and I decided to go and watch the MTN Corporate Ironman Triathlon which is held the day before the main event.  It is 10% of the Ironman distance and can be a team event.  It is quite fun to watch and we had quite a few friends that were taking part.  We figured we had better go and cheer them on because we knew that they would be cheering for us the following day.

 

Well, just as I picked up my bag and walked out the house my entire neck, left shoulder, arm and back seized up.  I had done NOTHING and here I suddenly could not move.  I got to my mom and sister in the car and I was in PAIN!  I did not know what to do, but figured it might just go back to normal.  I mean I had not done anything so it could not be an injury…… Could it?????  So we went down to the beach front and it was not getting any better.  I was beginning to get rather stressed.  I had prepared so well for this race and now….  What the HELL was going on.  I was just felt nauseous with worry and did not know what to do.  All I wanted to do was go home crawl into my bed and cry but I knew that was not going to do any good.  I also remembered that at the Ironman Expo there were Physiotherapists giving massages.  Maybe that would help.  I had also been training with a girl who is a chiropractor and knew that if I really was in trouble she would help me out.  I phoned her and asked if she thought I should go for a massage and what advice she could give me.  She said massage, stretch, ice and if it did not get better then I would see her at the race briefing in a couple of hours and we could see then. 

 

Unfortunately the massages were fully booked – more panic.  Luckily my sister’s friend is a sports therapist and lived just around the corner from the beach.  She called him and he said to come round and he would see if he could help.  Thank you, thank you thank you!!!!!  He massaged my neck and shoulder and it loosened up quite a bit.  I put ice and heat on it when I got home and figured it was a lot better.  Hopefully a good night’s sleep would help.  I was VERY worried though.  Also I felt very guilty bugging these people as they also all had to prepare for the race.

 

When I woke up in the morning it was fine…. for a whole 10 minutes and then I seized up again.  CRAP!!!  Not good.  But I figured it must just be stress, or at least that was what I was convincing myself it was.  I mean if it was a real injury then it would not have been fine when I would up???  It would be FINE as soon as I was on the start line.  It just had to be.

2 thoughts on “Finally – some info on Ironman

I would love to hear from you

