Posted in Charity, Ironman, Ironman 4 Kidz, Office, Ordinarylife, Port Elizabeth, South Africa, Work

Now how am I going to complain?

I loved being on holiday, and I am loving all the public holidays at the moment. 

 

There is only one problem.  It reminds me how much I like being at home.  It makes coming in to work very difficult.  I have been mumbling and moaning for the last 2 days (yes, that is all I have worked this month) about work.  But then, just to make me feel extremely guilty, the company I work for goes and does something very surprising and totally out of the blue!

 

They called a meeting this morning to congratulate me on my Ironman performance, saying that I did the company proud and gave me a gift voucher for a massage.  Yippee!!!!  Damn…  Now how am I going to complain?

 

For all my muttering and moaning I do really like the company.  The CEO is great, and I love the fact that as a company we are so involved in various charities.  For a small company we really do give quite a bit back.  So much so that I knew when I asked them to sponsor me to run for a charity they would.  It also made my Ironman more special to know that I was doing it for more than just myself and that some other people were benefiting too.  Doing it with “Ironman 4 Kidz” really added to the experience and I would recommend to other PE people thinking of doing IMSA next year to think about doing it for them too.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Now how am I going to complain?

  1. I worked for a company like that too – so I always felt so bad grumbling!

    I think after being on long leave like you it’s completely natural to not want to go to work!

  2. Firefly – I know, I can’t wait.
    Shayne – I guess I have always said I like the company, it is just the work….. Oh well, best I actually get down to doing some of it?
    Charisa – does make you feel good.
    6000 – I guess so, and as soon as I start complaining, I just remind myself where I worked previously and start thanking my lucky stars I am here.

I would love to hear from you

