Posted in Family, Ordinarylife, Port Elizabeth, Running, Training

My mom is faking an injury…….

Well at least, I keep telling her she is faking it.  She is just scared that I might actually beat her in the next race so has decided not to do it.  Hmph, given that this might be the time when I am at my absolute fittest and is probably the best chance I have at beating her I am not surprised she is scared….

 

Ok, so there might be a slim possibility that she is not really faking it.  She is Scottish after all and the chances that she would spend money at a Chiropractor unless she really believed she had a problem are absolutely non existent.  I should maybe be a little more compassionate?

 

Unlike after my last Ironman, I have actually been for a few runs.  I even very nearly got on my bike, but thankfully was spared that because of really bad weather.  This morning I woke up at 4, got changed and was just about to head out the door when my phone rang and the others cancelled.  I have never been so happy to receive a phone call at 4.30 in the morning.  It was raining and dark and I really did not feel like going for my first ride in a few weeks in weather like that.

9 thoughts on “My mom is faking an injury…….

  1. Lynette – she is fantastic. I have yet to beat her. She is 63 and either wins or comes second in her age group all the time. I have said that it is my main goal for this year to try and finish ahead of her. It does not look like it is going to happen though.

  2. The fact that you get up at 4am amazes me. I think I’m amazing for getting up at 5 and then I read you get up at 4am – REGULARLY! 🙂 Glad you are running again!

  3. charisa – unfortunately if I want to cycle before work that is the only time!
    FF – it is not easy! Luckily I am a morning person, sadly you will find me in bed by about 9:30pm in the evenings though.
    Shayne – in winter it is a bit of a problem (understatement) but in summer it is fantastic.
    Tricia – she is.
    Emil – yip, I am ususually the slowest out of all of us.

I would love to hear from you

