Posted in Ordinarylife, Running

Can I join you?

There is one thing about getting fitter and faster that I really enjoy and that is my new found sense of confidence in my own abilities. 

Before I would always run alone – I would very rarely join a group.  I always thought that I would be slowest or I would not be able to last the distance and have to walk.  Lately however I have realized that I don’t have to worry about having to walk.  Or not being able to keep up.  I am just as fit as they are.  Maybe still not as fast, but then it is a training run anyway and not a race. 

On Saturday I joined a group run for the first time.  It was fun.  There were about 12 of us and I was not the slowest and even if I had been it would not have really mattered.  They stopped off at various places along the route to drink water and let every one catch up.  I really enjoyed it and it made 19km go very quickly – having somebody to talk to helps. 

Then last night I went for my first run with a running club.  I have also always been nervous to join a club and still am a bit, but I went along anyway – just to see.  We did 10 kms and once again talking made it seem a lot shorter.  I must admit that I did stop chatting every time we hit a hill though. 

 It was lots of fun and I will go back next week.

I would love to hear from you

