Posted in Crime, Ordinarylife, Work

Fired for Facebook status!

I am amazed by what some people write on their blogs and Facebook status.  Mr OL sent this link to me.  Not sure why……  For some reason he seems to think I spend too much time on line at work????  Don’t know where he gets that from……  

I was actually thinking about what people write on their blogs or Facebook status yesterday.  I came across a blog where this girl was constantly complaining about her boss.  I think every second post had something about him in it.  The thing is her name and the city she lived in was on her blog.  The company that she worked for was not, but it would not be that hard to find out where she worked. 

I am also amazed at the amount of people that write if they are going away on holiday or even for the weekend.  I am sure that it would not be that difficult (if you were that way inclined) to find out where they live.  What more do you need, you already know that their house is going to be empty for a specific period.  I know on Facebook it is only your “friends” that can see your status (or at least that is how mine is set up) but still – some of those “friends” I last saw at school and it is our 20 year reunion this year. 

I am very aware of what I write.  I know my full name is very easy to find out.  I know by Ironman pictures and the company I work for is not that difficult to figure out.  But I don’t slag them off.  I also don’t write if I am going away on holiday – or at least I don’t give the dates.  I usually only say what it was like when I return.   I might write that I am on leave from work, but not that I am going out of town.  (This is SA after all).

The stuff I write about work is not a secret – even my boss knows that I am not that busy.  Or at least she should – I am constantly asking for more work or more involvement.  They know I spend time online.  I give feedback about websites and ideas for the development for our online profile.  I put my internet surfing down as “research” cough, cough, splutter (ok so that might be slight, uhmmm, exaggeration) 

How careful are you about what you write?

9 thoughts on “Fired for Facebook status!

  1. Wow. I didn’t realise I had so much to say on the subject, but here goes:

    I’m careful about what I blog about. For example, I don’t use my child’s real name or mention her school or our suburb and I certainly never post pictures of her on the Internet.

    I do not want strangers to know who she is.For that matter, not even my colleagues at my last job, or any of my current clients know what she looks like. Call me paranoid, but I feel I have to be extra careful becuase I have such an active online presence and I don’t want to make it even easier for some sick person to walk up to Baby and pretend familiarity based on the info I provided.

    In terms of work, I don’t discuss personalities behind the companies and publications I write for. I may talk about my writing process, but that’s about me, not my employers.

    My clients would not be amused if they read derogatory comments about themselves or their fellow-clients. They’d wonder when I would next rant about them, which does not inspire a lot of confidence in me as a service provider.

    And I know my clients, and the business executives who read my articles, read my blog.

    I’ve been to interviews where a VP of some multinational company has asked me how Baby is doing, or if I’ve sold a children’s story lately. I know they mean to just be friendly, to try to build some rapport, but it never fails to make me nervous.

    And maybe I do have the right to rant about someone, as long as what I say is true and I have proof; but the Internet for me is a way to build my business and relationships, and you don’t do that by slagging people.

    As for my Facebook status, I use it to update my friends on what I’m doing, because I don’t see many of them regularly. I don’t talk about other people.

    Never say something about a person that you would not say to them in person: that characterises my blogging and Facebook usage, and it’s a good practice to have both in real life and online.

  2. Well given that 2 of my bosses sons are on my facebook, and I have links to the company websites, which he came across, when having a marketing meeting a few years back, I know better than to “crap on my own doorstep” so to speak

  3. I am not as careful as I should be – but then again, my boss is a friend of mine, and is a facebook friend too…so there is no hiding from him. Someone is always at my house, so even if we leave for holiday, there are people here – big family makes this possible. Plus, we have a big ass dog that would eat anyone near the house…so there is that.

    I guess that the people I have “met” online (you for one) are important to me. The friendships (for me at least) gained online mean something to me and it is worth sharing parts of my life in order to have these… make sense?

  4. I think you have a wise approach… You can never be too careful!

    That person who got fired deserved to be fired! Seriously! That’s just looking for trouble. They were probably trying to get rid of him anyway, since he sounds as if he could have had a poor attitude. He hanged himself!

  5. I am more careful about what I blog about then at first when nobody read it. But for facebook updates, I pick my friends who can see them and have some tight controls over the other stuff so it’s not open to everyoneto see my pictures etc. I might have a problem when a couple of the employees who work for me start doing triahtlon training. Then I’ll have to really temper back what I say. But mosts of my comments on Facebook can be taken one way or another.

  6. This is such an ironically-timed post! There have been some recent things going on at work which, without going into any great detail, made me decide to pretty much stop all blogging whilst on the job. Basically, I don’t want the people I work with knowing that much about my personal life… it’s like my two worlds colliding, and no good will come from that! : )

  7. Yip, blogging is personal. Work stays out of it.

    But I share pictures of my son in the same vain as I show him off in Somerset Mall 😉

    Yes, one has too be circumspect, and ultimately, it is an individual choice. Who would not want the world to know that are Blue Bull supporters.

  8. Damaria – as I don’t yet have children I am not sure who “protective” I would be. I dont’ put my husbands name on my blog, and don’t mention friends names. At first I would not put any pictures on where anyone could be recognise but have since put on a few, specifically my wedding pics and a few of my sister. They all know I have a blog and I have asked them if I can put their pictures on. I like to think I protect their privacy. When I have kids (yes 6000 I said when) I will probably put their pictures on buy maybe not their names. I like this blog to be about me and my life and my kids would then be a big part of it. I might try and watermark the pictures though.

    Wiggy – Some of the people I work with know I have a blog, but I don’t think they know what the name is or anything, but I agree. I don’t want to burn bridges. Also PE is VERY small. No matter what you say it will get back to you.

    Charlise – I agree and some of the people that I have “met” through my blogging are important to me too. Specifically you, Hanlie, Jennifer and 6000. I have been reading your blogs and you mine for nearly 2 years. You know more about me than most people I know in the same town. When I worry about what I write it is more about the people that don’t comment. And that I don’t know who they are. But then if I did not share some information then we would have never realised how much we actually have incommon, even though we lead very different lives on other sides of the planet.

    Hanlie – totally agree, with comments like that what did he expect. Seriously, what was he thinking.
    Maggs – I am more open now, but still very concious of what I write. I also have pretty strict controls on my Facebook profile and limit most of my photos to friends only. Thankfully nobody I work with does triathlon, but I have had a couple of people at the triathlons come up to me and ask if I am “Ordinary Life” because they found my blog looking for results or something like that. Makes me wonder who else just “finds” it.

    Jennifer – but I love seeing pictures of the pigs!! Dont’ stop.

    6000 – but you do say what you do. And I agree – what ever goes around comes around. Maybe I should stop all comments work related….

    Emil – I think some people on blogs, as in life are just more open. And no matter what the score I would not want people to know that I am a Bulls supporter. But I will acknowledge that they did very well.

I would love to hear from you

