Posted in Family, Ordinarylife

Happy Birthday!

I don’t have much to write – so have been trying to decide… should I write about rubbish just to keep my blog up to date.  Or should I stay silent for a while till something a little more exciting happens.  I bet you won’t guess which one I decided to do? 

Yip – you guessed it rubbish. 

Well, not quite rubbish.  In fact not rubbish at all.  Thirty-nine years ago today one of the most important people in my life was born.  I tried to get all sentimental and gushy on him this morning but he was not buying it.  I am not a sentimental and gushy type of person but my life would be much less happy if Mr OL was not in it.  So although he does not want to celebrate today (to close to 40 I think) I want to celebrate today.  So – I am making him take me out to celebrate…. Ok, not quite.  I am taking him out to celebrate.  I am just not giving him a choice in the matter.  I will make a concession and go to his favourite restaurant though.  I will even (maybe) pay.  

So I guess that even if I don’t have anything to write about I should just start writing.  You don’t have to read it, but I usually end up with something important (to me) to say. 

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MR OL!!  I love you lots!!!!

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!

  1. @Melody – one of my friends said to me before my 40th birthday:”You don’t look a day over 40.”

    My response? I . AM. NOT. A. DAY. OVER. 40.

    Seriously though, I’m turning 42 in July, and I’m having a blast. I’m happiest now in my 40s than when I was in 20s and 30s, and i did think turning 30 rocked.

    Maybe it’s because I do more things to please me now rather than being concerned about people’s vision of who i’m supposed to be.

    When you’re in your 40s ( please God), you’re working a career you want, have some seriority at work and can therefore dictate some terms, you’re long out of student digs and actually have a real nice sofa you can plonk yourself on to relax. I also feel like there’s less pressure on me as a woman to be a flawless size 32 and to dress more fashionably.
    Hopefully by then you’ve been to a number of countries, and world travel no longer means back-packing, but staying in a decent hotel and actually being able to afford to so some serious shopping:-)

  2. Thanks all – he seems to have survived and maybe even enjoyed the day.

    And has begun planning a 40th party. I think he has decided if you are going to do it you may as well do it well..

I would love to hear from you

