Posted in Ordinarylife

More than I think I know?

The mind is a strange and curious place (but maybe that is just mine?). 

On Monday night I had a dream about an actor.  It was very clear and vivid and when I woke up on the morning I could picture his face in detail.  But I could not remember his name or anything he had acted it.  It bugged me. Actually that was a bit of an understatement.  It annoyed the $##$%# out of me all day!  Who the heck was this guy? 

I tried Googling but that is rather hard when you don’t know his name or anything he has acted in.  Tall, dark actors with cute smiles seem to be a dime a dozen on Google!  In fact any variation of the above drew no result.  Top 100 hottest Hollywood actors etc – nothing.  Not that it would have helped because I would not have recongnised his name anyway…..  

And then last night whilst driving I remember what he had acted in!!!!  Wow – why is it that something like that just suddenly comes to you.  I had been trying all day to remember.  So, this is why I say the mind is odd.  Was that knowledge there all along?  Must have been?  Makes me think though, what else is hiding in the depth of our brains.  Do we actually “know” and”remember” everything that passes our way but only keep a certain amount in our conscious knowledge or filed somewhere for easy access. What about all the other stuff.  Does our brain archive it, but keep it somewhere?  Or is there a lot that we do actually loose?  I know they say we only use about 10% or our brain’s capacity – so how do I access a bit more?  And would I want to? 

So, I am sure you are all curios – he acted in Jack and Jill (he was Jill) and his name is Ivan Sergei. 

Ivan Sergei
Ivan Sergei
6 thoughts on “More than I think I know?

  1. I remember him! But if you’d mentioned a name, I would still not have known who you’re talking about. I think I need to improve the filing system in my mind, because even though the info is in there, retrieval is a %$#*

  2. I looooved that show, and they just stopped doing it! Such a shame really. Amanda Peet was his co-star and she still does movies etc…. she’s great!

  3. I’ve never seen him before!

    I’ve been reading about the conscious and the sub-conscious mind lately and apparently everything we’ve ever experienced, seen, heard or learned is stored in the subconscious mind. We just don’t know how to access that.

    There are programs that can teach you how to do that – it has a lot to do with how you “file” the information. Imagine everything being written on pieces of paper and then thrown into boxes. We’d never find the information we’re looking for. For the system to work we need to file and cross-reference everything. The same with our minds…

    But you have an excuse for being forgetful now! Porridge brain during pregnancy is a well-known phenomenon. I once had a staff member who couldn’t remember the smallest thing and who promptly fell asleep at her desk after lunch every day while pregnant!

  4. Damaria – that is my problem. Takes a while to access the correct file……

    Lynette – lets put it this way – it was going pretty well unitl he broke up with me. At least he was nice about it. If he is anything like he was in my dream he seems to be a nice guy.

    Charisa – usually when you are not thinking about it anymore or the need to know has passed.

    Kathy – I enjoyed that show as well, and have seen Amanda Peet in quite a few things after it. Most of the co-stars have been in a few movies since.

    Hanlie – You are missing out – he is HOT! (or at least totally my taste – besides MR OL of course). Thankfully I have not fallen asleep at my desk yet. It was close yesterday, so I took the afternoon off – I get one afternoon off a month. I went straight home and slept for a couple of hours. Hmmmm, porridge brain – I am not looking forward to that.

I would love to hear from you

