Posted in Cycling, Food, Ordinarylife

What now?

I can’t believe that the Tour de France is finishing this weekend.  I have really been into it this year.  What am I going to do in the evenings now….

I have watched it in past years and enjoyed but nothing like this year.  Thankfully the timing has been perfect with regards to work and stuff.  I finish work at 4:30, rush straight home and am usually in time to watch the last 30 or 40 km.  The exciting bits!!! 

I am not sure if it because I know more about cycling this time round, or I recongnise or what it is but I am LOVE ‘N it!!!!!! 

At least once it is over I might be able to stop and do stuff on my way home – like restock the fridge.  Mr OL is on an enforced diet.  Luckily we had quite a bit stocked up before hand but now it is down to a few pieces of past their best fruit.  (I took the best fruit to work this morning – yum, strawberries, kiwi and guava)

Last night I roasted a duck – just because we had nothing else in the freezer.  That and roast are easy.  Get home; put it in the oven, watch the TV and viola – an hour or so later it is done. 

Actually last nights dinner turned out quite nice.  I did roasted duck with a cranberry reduction and mash.  YUMMY!!  Tonight I think it is going to be take away pizza bought ordered before I leave work and picked up on the way home.  I will go shopping tomorrow.

7 thoughts on “What now?

  1. I hate it when people do this to me, but:

    Voila: French expression, literally meaning “here it is!”

    Viola: Member of the string family of instruments, larger than a violin, but smaller than a cello.

    Sorry. (Unless you did actually have a string quartet around….)

  2. i’m quite relieved it ends this weekend. it’s all my husband has been able to talk about for the last month – i enjoy it but not that much!

    happy grocery shopping.

  3. You roasted a duck? With mash and reduced cranberry sauce? Crikey moses. I hate to think what you pull out when you ‘put in the effort’.

  4. 6000 – what else would I have as background music to go with duck and cranberry sauce?

    Hanlie – it was so bad that Mr OL and I had to share a teabag on Sat morning as we were down to the last one. And then I had to put brown sugar in the tea as I realised I had run out of white. Thankfully we are now well stocked again.

    Shayne – I hate shopping in general, but if I had to choose between groceries or clothes you would find me in a food aisle every time.

    Melody – At least with that you can put it in the oven and forget about it for 2 hours or so.

    Tricia – I know – I see a slight bump in the road and I start cursing. They climb for 30 or 40 km????????

I would love to hear from you

