Posted in hiking, Hiking Trails, Ordinarylife, Whale Trail

Just a few

Here are a couple of photos that I took with my digital camera.  I can’t wait to get the others developed.  For now I am going to leave you with this and a promise that I will write more detail shortly!!

Looking over the Breede River Valley
Looking over the Breede River Valley

 

Looking over the De Hoop Nature Reserve toward the sea.
Looking over the De Hoop Nature Reserve toward the sea.

 

Whale watching from afar
Whale watching from afar

 

Walking towards the 3rd hut.
Walking towards the 3rd hut.

 

Cormorants nesting - with chicks (very cute)
Cormorants nesting - with chicks (very cute)

 

Some whales - not cooperating!
Some whales - not cooperating!
6 thoughts on “Just a few

  1. Now I have to be honest, I have never done an overnight hike. Its not that I don’t want to, I just haven’t had a chance. And if I ever get the option, this one will probably be high on the list of possibilities.

  2. Damaria – it is lovely, I wish I were back there.

    Lynette – it was. And so do I. I used to hike a lot more than I have been lately and I really miss it. I think it will also be a quite a while till I can do another as well, with a baby it might be a little more diffiucult. Especially as I usually hike with my mom, so she can’t do any baby sitting duties.

    Hayley – if you get the opportunity you should.

    Hanlie – It is near Bredarsdorp, about 50km south of the N2. We turned off near Swellendam, but I think coming from Cape Town you have an early turn off. They also have stunning accommodation in the Nature Reserve for those not hiking as well.

    Firefly – it is an excellent one to start with because the only thing you need is a good pair of walking shoes and a day pack. Everything else is provided. And it is STUNNING!

I would love to hear from you

