Posted in Ordinarylife

So I still blush!

So I went….. and it turned out to be a lot more fun that I was expecting.  There were about 40 people there and I would say that I remembered about ½ of them.  Some of them were very good friends at school and others that I have bumped into since. 

My very best friend from school was there and although we have drifted apart since then it was very nice to catch up again.  We sat with her, her husband and one of the other couples at a table.  The 4 of them are very good friends so the provided most of the conversation.  

Other than that it was nice to see how people have changed. Some of them weren’t looking to bad and other looked – well…… OLD!!!  In general the boys seemed to have aged worse than the girls.  I suppose they have the problem of loosing their hair, which is definitely an aging factor. 

My friend pointed out one of the guys and asked me if I remembered him.  I said no, she said I should…… Uhmm ok – so who the hell was he?  Just as soon as she “reminded” me he walked past and gave me this little smile. She said “looks like he remembers you…”  I thought I had stopped blushing when I finished school but apparently NOT! 

So who was he?  Well, my Matric Dance was not the highlight of my school career, I took somebody that I thought was quite nice, but it turned out to be a bit of a disaster.  He would not dance and just sat around at the table.  Hmmm, so I ditched him and went to the after party alone.  Fantastic idea!  There were a few people there that also turned up alone – one of these was the captain of the 1st Rugby Team.  Not that I thought I stood a chance.  I was probably class nerd (yes, I was a librarian – Senior Librarian I will have you know) and quite shy.  Also I had not dated anybody in the school (or out).  Well, it is amazing what a bit of Esprit will do!  I ended up kissing him behind the scout hall and then giggling for the rest of the night.  My rather dull and boring evening ended up being anything but.  The captain of the rugby team kissed me…..  wow!

6 thoughts on “So I still blush!

  1. Lynette – my pleasure

    6000 – probably, but I don’t care. Still made my night.

    Melody – I think there are quite a few of us that do.

    Firefly – strangely enough not. I must not have made much of an impression.

    Shayne – yip, especially when you were 17!

I would love to hear from you

