Posted in Family, Ironman, Ordinarylife, Quilting, Running, Training

Me, obsessed? Never!

Mr OL thinks I get a bit obsessive about some things – like Ironman training or what ever it is that I have going on at that moment.  Although I was a bit upset when he said it, I realised that he is quite right. 

I get all passionate about “it” (whatever “it” may be), I obsess about “it” for a while, Google and research as much as I can about “it” – then finish, complete or do “it”, once it is over I hit a bit of a depression until I find the next “it”.  

This is not good – especially not for career choices.  It means that I have yet to find what it is that I enjoy doing and will continue to enjoy doing in the future.  How it is good though is that it means I have a broad range of interests and know quite a bit about quite a few subjects.  What is that saying “Jack (Jill) of all trades, Master of none” I think that describes me pretty well.  I can do lots of stuff reasonably well, but am not exceptionally talented in any.  Once I have figured out how to do it I will move on to the next thing.  Some things do endure though.  I have done TWO Ironman races and I have painted for over 10 years and I have been blogging for over 3 years.  

However – I do have a latest (passing) obsession – quilting!!! Go figure?? I can’t stop Googling it, looking at material and researching different styles and stuff.  I blame that b#@%@#% playmate.  I really enjoyed making it, but realised that as far as quilts go it was not quite up to standard or done in the correct way.  Hmmmm, I am NOT going to start quilting –NOT, NOT, NOT!!!! 

I will also give you a heads up to what my next obsession is going to be, unless of course ALL my priorities change once the baby is born.  It is going to be run training!  I need a goal, something to get me out of bed, onto the road and back into shape, and yes something to obsesses about and to research.  I need a training program!!! So, me being me I have figured it out.  I want to do the Comrades Ultra Marathon in 2011!  I have thought about it A LOT, it is something I have always wanted to do and would have done this year if I had not fallen pregnant.  I have discussed it with Mr OL (he is hoping once the baby is born I will change my mind but is ok with it if I don’t) and have uhmmm, researched it.  Unfortunately it is an “up” run that year but I don’t want to wait till 2012 (baby #2 might get in the way). 

So, over the next year and a bit please be prepared to be bored with this blog focusing on 2 main topics – the first being Baby OL and the second being running.  In preparation I have bought a running stroller…..  I could not get the one I wanted DRAT!  They don’t sell BOB strollers in South Africa – they would not even ship me one!!!  In fact they would not even ship one to my sister in the UK.  So I have had to make do with a local stroller.  Not what I wanted but the only reasonable one I could get, it does say on the website not for professional jogging though?  Not really sure what that means – but do you think training for the Comrades would be classed as “professional jogging”????  

Don’t say I did not warn you!

9 thoughts on “Me, obsessed? Never!

  1. Oooh – I will have a training partner!!! Drat! She lives over 1000km away. Still – I guess we could run to each other and meet half way?? That would probably be Bloem!! Whadda ya say?
    OH – and if you’re interested, we are selling our Phil & Teds jogger stroller… will be perfect for you, as we have the double lit, so when baby no.2 comes along you can run with both!! Go google Phil & Teds if you have no idea what I’m talking about… it is a fab pram/stroller. We bought it in England. If you want pics etc, email me! x

  2. I think it’s awesome how you are so motivated and dedicated to Ironman stuff… you are an inspiration! So inspire away! : )

    And I like how you say “fallen pregnant” as if you’ve caught something…. 🙂

  3. I have thought of it but there is no way I would ever do it (not in the foreseeable future). I get too bored just jogging along the road to even start training for such an event. Good luck. If you can do Ironman, then this would be a breeze.

  4. Slamdunk – thank you. Lets hope I am up to it after Baby OL arrives.

    Lynette – thank you.

    forgingahead – you might regret saying that when you are bored with reading about my running or lack there of.

    Kirsty – your on. And thanks for the offer of the stoller, I have bought a Chelino one for now and will see how that goes.

    Jennifer – It hink it is quite a common expression here? Or maybe not. I have never really thought about it before.

    FF – Where is your sense of adventure. There is a point where boredom passes and you begin to enjoy it – really I promise!!

    6000 – hopefully to PMB. At least there are no taxi’s in the sea. Although for the first time ever in PE history they put up a shark alert yesterday. It was just for baby sharks though – and they were only hammer heads!

    charisa – thank you. I really hope the ultra becomes a reality. I am looking forward to the challenge.

I would love to hear from you

