Posted in hiking, Hiking Trails, Ordinarylife, Plettenberg Bay, Robberg Hike, South Africa

Awesome weekend planned!

I am very excited for this weekend. 

I have made plans to meet up with a friend that I have not seen since 1999.  

We first met in 1993 whilst working at the same place in Cape Town.  In 1994 we briefly shared a flat until I decided to go travelling and moved to London.  In 1997 she also decided to move to London and we once again briefly shared a flat.  I left (notice a trend) later that same year to go travelling.  

She still lives in the UK and besides a brief visit to Scotland in 1999 when we met up I have not seen her since. 

She is in South Africa visiting family in the Garden Route at the moment and we have decided to try and meet half way – PLETTENBERG BAY.  I can’t wait.  We are just going to go through for the day tomorrow but it should be awesome.  

Not only am I going to meet up with her but I also get to see one of my favourite places on earth!  I love the Garden Route and she and I used to spend a lot of time there.  It will be like old times – except that we are both 16 years older, married, she has a 6month old baby and I am 9 months pregnant. As I said – just like old times.

Reasons why I love PLETT! (photos taken when we did the Robberg Hike in Novemeber 2008)

Robberg in Plett November 2008
Robberg - Plettenberg Bay.
3 thoughts on “Awesome weekend planned!

  1. Girlfriends like that are so special. Time and Geography make no difference to the bond you share… you will pick up where you left off 10 years ago! Enjoy x

  2. I love meeting up with old friends. It’s a great reminder of the little things that make us truly ourselves that we sometimes lose of the years. When I’m feeling in a rut, it’s always the old friends I turn because they can help me be a better me.

I would love to hear from you

