Posted in Cats, Family, Ordinarylife, Pets

Not my brightest idea?

So a while ago I started playing a game with my cat, Bacardi.  Each night I will say to him, “Come Bacardi we are going to bed, even if he was fast asleep on the couch he will get up and follow me.  When we get to the bed we play a bit of a game.  I run my feet or hands under the duvet and he “catches” them.  We play for a very short while and then go to sleep.  Very sweet! 

Very sweet – that was until last night!!!  It was hot and I just threw the duvet of the bed – I forgot all about the “game”.  As I was just putting my feet under the sheet he pounced, teeth and claws out.  Holy $#@#%!!!!  No DUVET!  I could not move because every time I moved he would pounce again.  Eventually I managed to turn away from him but then I must have moved.  He pounced on my butt.  I screamed and leapt out of the bed and then burst out laughing.  It must have looked really funny and anyway, how could I be cross – I had “taught” him this game.  

The only way I could get back into bed was to put the duvet back on.  Now if I could just teach him that we only play that game in winter?  Having scratched, bitten and swollen feet is not fun!

Bacardi! Not as innocent as he looks
6 thoughts on “Not my brightest idea?

  1. We used to think it was cute to shake our cats food dish before he’d start eating. Now he demands that we come over and do just that – whether it’s full of food or not. The lesson? Be very careful what behavior you introduce.

    Great story though I’m sure you weren’t thinking so at the time! And Bacardi is adorable!

I would love to hear from you

