Posted in Family, Ordinarylife, Parenting, Pregnancy, Running

Quick update

So, by now you have heard the news – thanks 6000. 

Kaylin Elizabeth was born on the 19 February  (the day after her due date)and is exactly a month old today.  I can’t believe how the time has flown.  It hardly even feels like a week has gone buy never mind a month.

This is just going to a quick update, I have written a whole “birth story” on my other computer which I will post with photos shortly.  I have snuck onto this computer while my mom is holding Baby OL. 

My last post was “still here” and I was fully expecting to be at work the following day as well, but that did not happen.  My water broke at 10:15pm on the 18th and we went to the hospital.  I was really glad that I was at home as the thing you see on the movies – with a whole gush and then flooding really does happen!  I heard and felt a pop and then it was as if somebody had thrown a bucket of water over me.  Contractions started as we were driving to the hospital.

Anyway – there are a few things that I never thought would happen.  I never thought that I would spend hours staring at little toes, or hands or ears.  I never thought of myself as a “baby person’ – but I am now seriously a baby person – or at least this baby.  I am enjoying her so much.  It does help that she is pretty good though.  I am loving being a mom and have realised that it is probably just as well that I waited 37 years to do this.  I might have wanted quite a few more if I had started any earlier!!!!

I have not started running again yet, but have been walking quite a bit. This morning we went for a 6km walk around the neighbourhood.  It was a stunning morning and it was good to get out.  Baby OL is getting used to her pram and fell fast asleep.

Best I get back to my mom, although I am sure she is loving holding her first grandchild.

10 thoughts on “Quick update

  1. I knew you’d be a good mum and just take eveyrthing in your stride!

    So glad that you’re enjoying her so. Try and document as much as you can because before you know it she’ll be 4 and you’ll have forgotten the tiny details.

  2. I can’t wait to read the birth story, but for now I’m just happy to hear that it all went well and that you are enjoying your baby. And wow, I bet not many new moms take 6km walks round their neighborhood!

  3. Amazing how one settles into the parental routine, isn’t it?
    Just looking – er… no mention of Mr OL there. How’s he holding up?

I would love to hear from you

