Posted in Baby OL, Family, Food, Ordinarylife

This week- hectic!

Wow, I have had a hectic week and it does not look like it will slow down at all for the weekend. 

It started with a crap day on Tuesday – I was stuck at the UIF offices all day, but I think that might be post all on its own. 

Work wise I have also been busy – which is great!  I am so happy to be doing stuff, I just wish that I actually knew what it was I am doing?  I hate feeling like I know nothing.  Also if feels as if I am only being given 50% of the information I require?  I am sure it is not intentional but still, it feels as if I am being set up to fail.  Lets hope not. 

It’s the weekend though – so YAY!  Tomorrow morning I am doing my first 10km road race in over 18months.  I have not done much training since I have been back at work, so it is going to be a slow one.  I am really looking forward to it though.  

In the afternoon Baby OL has been invited to a birthday party.  One of my friends daughters turns two.  Baby OL will be too young to understand what is going on but so what. 

Talking about Baby OL, can you believe that she was 6 months old yesterday.  I can’t believe how the time has flown.  I took her for her 6 month check up on Tuesday and all is well. She is 66cm tall and 7.54kg.  Everything else seem right on track.  To celebrate her birthday I gave her, her first bottle of formula…..  I am still going to be breast feeding her in the morning and at night, but the nanny will be giving her two bottles of formula during the day.  This weekend we are also going to be starting with solids….. should be interesting.  Any ideas on what I should give her first?  Everyone has conflicting information.  It is a toss up at the moment between rice cereal or sweet potato?

5 thoughts on “This week- hectic!

  1. I started off with rice cereal, but my little guy absolutely LOVED sweet potato. Still does.

    Good luck and take loads of pics – the expression on her face will be priceless.

  2. Lauren – thanks, I will try and get Mr OL to hold the camera.

    Cat – If it is rice cereal it is not going to be a commercially bought one. I have read the book “Super Baby Foods” by Ruth Yaron and she tells you how to make it from organic brown rice at home. Basically just brown rice pulverised. She says as long as they are over 6 months they are able to digest that. I read the ingredients on the boxes of the commercial stuff and SCARY!!! They almost all include brown sugar. I don’t want to be giving her sugar for a very long time.

  3. 6000 – ok, let me rephrase that. I don’t want to give her additional or refined/processed sugars. The sugars occuring naturally in foods are ok. For example in fruits, breastmilk etc….

    she is on rice today for the first time so we will see how that went.

I would love to hear from you

