Posted in Baby OL, Cats, Comrades Marathon, Family, Feeding, Ordinarylife, Running, Training

Should I or Shouldn’t I?

I went for a run this weekend – it was a 15km race and about 5 km too far to be comfortable! 

 It is amazing the things that go through your mind when you run.  Especially when you begin to battle a bit.  My first thought was how can I feel this bad when it is only 15km and my second was “oh screw it walk!’  So I did, pretty much the last 2.5km.  Uhmmm, this is me who has plans on running a 89km ultra next May.  LOTS more training is going to be necessary.

 So anyway – entries for Comrades open tomorrow… should I or shouldn’t I???? That is the question.  Well, the question is more like will I or won’t I.  I thought about entering anyway and then seeing, but if I don’t end up running it I will feel bad. There are a limited number of entries and I might have taken the entry of somebody that would do it.  But then again I might really want to and not have an entry…… Oh decisions.

 Just to put this into perspective – I have not run (besides in the odd 10 or 15km race) since I went back to work after maternity leave – I just can’t get up in the mornings….  Well, I can get up, feed Baby OL, kick the cats out the house but staying awake and getting out the house that is another story.  Maybe now that it is getting lighter it will be easier?

Here is the profile of this years race. It was a “down run”, next year will be a “up run”  so you start at the coast (Durban) and run up to Pietermaritzburg. 

Route Profile
6 thoughts on “Should I or Shouldn’t I?

  1. Oh a difficult one. I’m inclined to say, enter, and then see how it goes. But from what I know (my SIL trained for the Comrades a couple of years back), there is no such thing as ‘seeing how it goes’. The training is pretty hectic and requires dedication and committment otherwise you’ll never cope – especially if it is an UP next year.

    But perhaps training for the comrades is the kick in the butt you need to get out of bed and running?

    Good luck, whatever your decision is.

  2. Shayne – Well, I figured it is probably easier to train for than Ironman. At least it is only one thing a day and there are no 7 hour cycles to contend with! I work much better with a program and a goal so that might just be it. I do think the actual day would be harder than Ironman though. Running for 11 or 12 hours – ouch!!!

  3. I say don’t do next year, but do the following year – the down run… and I’ll do it with you! I Think that might just be the last year of our 30’s for both of us, so may as well go out with a bang! 😉
    My only reason for wanting to do the down run is ‘cos I want to finish in Durban, not ‘maritsburg x

  4. Just do it. If you could do Ironman, this will be a breeze. One of my coworkers did it this year and she said that she wants to do it again next year. And she isn’t a super athlete.

  5. Kirsty – I will actually be 40 then – yikes! My birthday is in April….. The reason I want (need) to do next year is that if I am going to have a second child I would want the gap to be about 2 years and that makes running comrades in 2012 impossible. Also I keep telling myself I am better at running up hill than down hill.

    FF – thanks, I think I will.

I would love to hear from you

