Posted in Baby OL, Books, Family, Food, Gardening, Ordinarylife, Parenting, Restuarants, Running, Sewing, Training, Training

I miss…..

There are a few things that I miss since I have had a baby.  And they are not the things I expected… I do not miss nights out or parties, I did not do that much anyway.  I am missing the hectic training I was doing but not as much as I thought.  I also miss going out to restaurants and just sitting down for a good meal, but I know that will come shortly.

So what am I missing?  Well, oddly enough I miss working in my garden!  I miss pottering around, planting seedlings, and just doing stuff!  I also miss cooking – just for fun.  Not puréed baby food.  Normally I would get home from work and cook dinner – not all the time as Mr OL and I would take turns.  But I enjoyed it.  Now Mr OL does all the cooking while I bath and put Baby OL to bed. 

So when exactly did I get this old? 

Truthfully though I think it is more the creative aspect that I miss.  I like designing my garden, I like concocting new dishes.  The only creative outlet I have at the moment is sewing Whachumacallits, and although each one is unique and hand drawn I miss variety.  I am very excited about the market on the 29th but will be quite pleased when it over.  Then I might have more time to do other stuff.

I suppose that Mr OL might be right, he says that I do too much.  But I guess I like it that way.  I like to be doing stuff – and different stuff. 

Here is list of things that I want to do but just don’t have the time at the moment.

  • Sew Baby OL some summer dresses – I am in front of my sewing machine  a lot at the moment but it is all for the market.
  • Plant some veggies and herbs – and have the time to look after them.
  • Learn to bake.  We have recently bought a Kenwood Major, but I have not even used.  I can’t wait to give it a test run and make something.
  • Make Mr OL a nice romantic meal and sit and eat it at the dining room table, possibly with a bottle of wine (actually maybe scrap the wine – last time I had any 17 months ago Baby OL was the outcome)
  • Spend an evening just sitting, relaxing!
  • Finish one of the four unfinished books next to my bed.  Normally I finish a book within a couple of nights but at the moment it taking me forever.  I will read a couple of pages each night before I go to sleep, but at the moment it is never more than a couple of pages. The one I am currently reading is “The Great Run” by Braam Malherbe.  It is about his run along the entire distance of the Great Wall of China.  So far so good, but I have only read about his first day…
  • Read up on and practice using my camera properly.  I am sure it has functions that I just don’t know how to use.

So if you had more time what would you like to do

2 thoughts on “I miss…..

I would love to hear from you

