Posted in Books, Crafts, Ordinarylife

Wrapping it up



At work each year we do a “Secret Santa” where we are each tasked with buying one other person in the company a gift.  The company pays, but we have to go and get it.

This year one of the girls wanted a voucher from Kalahari.net – great idea, but boring to unwrap.  So I decided to get a bit creative.

Once I got over my reluctance to cut up a book, here is what I did:

1.       Found a book in my cupboard that I was NEVER going to read. Thankfully it had a beautiful red hard cover under the paper sleeve.

 

2.       Used my craft knife and metal ruler to cut holes in about ¾ the pages.

 

 

3.       Made a “card” out of one of the pieces of paper that I had cut out.

4.       Put the voucher in the hole in the book, and tied it up with a bit of string.

 

 

I am really happy with the way it turned out and think it is a pretty  way to wrap up a voucher for books.  

10 thoughts on “Wrapping it up

  1. Looks awesome…. but **shock*** you cut up a book!!! 😉
    You are v creative…. are you perhaps in the wrong career???? Actually – I’m not sure what it is that you do for a job anyway… maybe you are in the creative industry??? x

    1. I wish I was in a creative industry – but nope. Funeral Insurance does not qualify……

      I know, I cut up a book – YIKES!

  2. Great idea! I’m going to borrow this idea to wrap my wife’s present otherwise she will guess right away what it is!

    BTW, that book is meant to be quite good actually! All about the American south in the 1860s… 😉

  3. Del – thanks, now I feel terrible about cutting it up. Ok, not so much. I did actually try and read it first – I persevered to about page 4 and realised there was no way I was going to get any further. Then I got out my knife. I got way more satisfaction from cutting it up than I would of from trying to read it.

I would love to hear from you

