Posted in Baking, Books, Food, Ordinarylife

Head in the books

I have been a very bad blogger as of late (not sure if anyone noticed).

I am not able to get online as much at work as I used to, but this is a good thing.  It means that I am busy!  Yay.  I have sort of been given a new position – same company but new responsibilities – and I am quite excited about it.  Not so excited that it did not affect my pay packet but that’s another story I guess.

The problem is that at the moment I kind of feel like I have been thrown in the deep end and am sinking.  I am doing some serious studying to find out what is actually going on and to catch up on all the relevant Acts and Legislation.  Fun and games ahead! 

I will try and blog when I can and will try and continue reading all of your blogs.  I miss it when I don’t and feel like I begin to loose contact with my friends.

Other than that I LOVE my Kindle.  I have been reading a lot lately.

These are my latest reads

Room – Emma Donoghue

13 Reasons why – Jay Asher

The slap – Christos Tsiolkas (I am about 1/2way through this one)  I have added a link to a review.  And I agree about the swearing.  I would enjoy the book a lot more if there was less swearing and I can’t think that drug use in urban Australia is quite so prolific. I did see a lot of drugs in Sydney when I lived there but thought it was the age group and social set I met – maybe I was wrong and it is more abundant that I thought?

I am also trying to read EAT PRAY LOVE – but am not really enjoying it (maybe it is because it is not on my kindle – but I don’t think that is the reason). The main characture annoys me.

I have also started Conversations with Myself – Nelson Mandela, but have not gotten very far (about 6 pages in)

 But for now my head is going to be stuck in The FAIS Act Explained.  I think they should have brought out a book called The FAIS Act for Dummies because that is the way I feel about it at the moment.

I might need a distraction shortly though, so any and all recommendation of books will be gladly accepted.

Talking about books, apparently the Biscuiteers Book is going to be delivered tomorrow.  yay, can’t wait.

8 thoughts on “Head in the books

  1. One of the best books I have read in a while have been “The elegance of the hedgehog” by Muriel Barbery. I also have “The Room” waiting. Deon Meyer – you have to read Deon Meyer. And the book that follow “Eat, Pray, Love” is brilliant (Committed) – if only for reading that, try to finish this one.

    1. Cat – Unfortunately Deon Meyer’s books are not available to SA readers on Kindle. Nor is Muriel Barbery’s book. I have put them both on my wish list and will check back as they up date with new books regularly. I will finish Eat Love Pray – and then try her next one. It is just taking me a while.

  2. Congrats on your new job. I’ve worked with legsilation ( and still write about some Bills coming before parliament), so I’m very curious as to how your experience will be. But I suspect you’ll be fine. I also learnt while flying by the seat of my pants, and ended up finding Bills and Acts interesting. And yes, sometimes there is some legal humour buried in there!

    I didn’t enjoy Eat Pray Love either and I know someone who also found character annoying:-).

    1. Thank you. I am enjoying learning new things and as I would have had to write an exam on most of it in my previous position anyway at least now I will be better prepared.

      I suppose I can’t really call her a character though as it is a true story. I do get why she left her husband but am battling a bit with the rest. I will persver though. I am sure that there are people that have read my blog that found me pretty annoying at times too.

    1. I really enjoyed it, but think I read it too quickly (a problem I have). After I finished it I started thinking about it, and the more I thought about it the more I realised how good it actually was. It will be one of those books I go back and read again.
      I finished all three of the Millenium Trilogy over Christmas. I loved them all but really battled to get into teh first 2. As soon as I was past the 60 page mark of each book I was hooked. I think I finished all three in less than a week.

I would love to hear from you

