Posted in Family, Ordinarylife

Getting old – it SUCKS!

Getting old is a bitch!!!   It sucks.  As you get older your parents are getting older too….

Urgh!  For a while now we have been talking about trying to get my dad into an old age home or retirement village but he swops between wanting to go and not setting foot in a place like that. 

However today my brother phoned me and said that “Dad wrote off his car yesterday – but he is fine”  PANIC!!!!!!!  Yes, I got the “fine” part but still.

Thankfully my dad is fine, but I left his house crying.  I am not sure why – is it because I am worried about him or is it that I am worried about me?  And if it is because I am worried about me how selfish am I????  I thankfully have two siblings to help, but suddenly it seems over whelming. We need to get him somewhere with support but we need to try and do it while respecting his feelings.  He has always been a very domineering person and I don’t want to just step over that and put my foot down (which is pretty much what I do – I wonder where I get that from…..).  I also want him to stop driving and ironically enough my brother and I said that over the weekend.  This he refuses to do and wants to go and get a new car as soon as possible.  In the meantime we need to ensure that him and his dog have enough food and support.

Boy oh boy – this old age thing sucks!

8 thoughts on “Getting old – it SUCKS!

  1. We are going through very much the same thing with my folks right now…and my dad also wrote off his car two months ago…scary stuff when you know they need care and they don’t want to know about it. Sending you hugs…be strong, my friend.

  2. 😦
    I feel for both you and your dad. It’s hard to lose your independance (him) and its hard to have a role reversal (you)
    Try and drop suggestions in small doses so that he can digest the information and get used to the idea… and then make the decision himself.
    Hugs x x

I would love to hear from you

