Posted in Books, Kindle, Ordinarylife

My latest reads

The two books I have just recently finished reading are:

Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova and The Dressmaker of Khair Khana by Gayle Tzemach Lemmon.

A friend recommended Swan Thieves, saying it was the best book she read last year.  I would not get that excited about it although I did enjoy it and can understand why she loved it. However I have read such good books this year – most notably The Book Thief – which is high on my list of top books ever.  Swan Thieves is interesting in the way it swops between two time periods.  I would also say that if you are an artist or interested in psychology (or both – which my friend is) it would appeal more.

The Dressmaker of Khair Khana is a very interesting and inspiring book. It is a true story about a young woman and her family and how she ensured that they all survived during the Taliban reign in Afghanistan.  It is well written and an easy read.  It has made me what to find out more about Afghanistan and its people, the troubles that they went through and are still going through and how individuals survived.  I am not sure how I would cope if I were suddenly told that I could not leave the house. 

If you could only read one of the two I would recommend The Dressmaker of Khair Khana. 

Did I mention before that I have also recently read Water for Elephants??? If not then I should – it was great and I would RECOMMEND that book.  Loved it!

The book I have just started is The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks.  I have not read enough to comment though.

And yes, all the above books are available on Kindle in South African – and Water for Elephants is on special for only $4.17.  Yes, that is less than R30.  LOVE MY KINDLE!

These books are to blame for my lack of exercise (I have to blame something as I am not going to take full responsibility for my laziness).  I love reading and once I get stuck into a book I can’t put it down. This means that often I will read past midnight – and then there is NO way I am getting up early to run.  Maybe it is time to put down the books and run a bit – at least for the next 3 weeks.

5 thoughts on “My latest reads

  1. I know how you feel about your Kindle – I have an Elonex eReader and it goes everywhere with me!

    Shaun has actually asked me on numerous occassions to leave it at home when we are going to go out because at times, I will whip it out for a few minutes 🙂

    I have read The Notebook – I absolutely loved it!

  2. I have also heard good things about The Notebook, let me know once youve done.
    I enjoyed the Swan Thieves but not as much as her first novel, the Historian, really really enjoyed that one!(but couldnt read it at night as I found it a little scary…!so I only read it in the day times…)
    I am leaning towards a Kindle, may just request it as a Christmas pressie:-)

  3. For now I prefer real books (probably because I can’t afford a Kindle. LOL!

    I have become totally addicted to Deon Meyer’s books (which have all been translated into English as well) and have now done 6 of his 9 books, 3 to go.

  4. oooh, i havent read The Book Thief yet, its on my kindle as a sample, will download the dressmaker one sample now too. I download all recommendations as samples so i dont forget!

I would love to hear from you

