Posted in Ordinarylife, Port Elizabeth, Running, Training

Pain in the butt!

Last night I was having a stunning evening.  I had arranged that Mr OL came straight home from work to see to Little OL and I went down to the beachfront to go for a run.  It was a nice evening – if I bit windy but it’s PE so I did not expect much different.

I had run about 6 or 7 km when I started planning in my head what my BBM status.  Hmmm “Awesome, Awesome, Awesome” was pretty much what I had decided. Things were going well and I was loving life…. AND THEN

OUCH – something happened to my BUTT.  Sudden shooting pains are not good.  Each time I tried to lift my leg I felt like somebody jabbed my butt with a hot poker.  The worst part was that I was about 3 kms away from my car.  My BBM status (in my head) suddenly went from “Awesome, Awesome, Awesome” to “#$#%$#$#!” and a few other unprintable words.  Not a happy camper. 3Km is a long way to walk when your butt is sore.

At least it feels a bit better today. I used my foam roller and stretched.  I am planning on riding tomorrow so let’s see.

5 thoughts on “Pain in the butt!

  1. Ouch! Sounds like your piriformis muscle spasmed on your sciatic nerve. The key stretches to relieve this are quite easy – shout if you want me to email them to you. Let me know via FB or BBM (my pin: 2124B480) as I never check back here for comments 😉

  2. Hi, thanks all.

    whatever it was it came right. I was playing with Little OL and it just popped right, that or it was the stretched I did religiously (not). Which ever I am just happy that it is fixed – for now.

    Thanks Kirsty – I will do.

I would love to hear from you

