Posted in Art, Baking, Cookies, Food, Ordinarylife, Paintings

Something new

So I decided to try something different with my iced sugar cookies – to paint them!  I have seen it around and thought I would give it a try.  We have our art class end of year party this weekend – our theme was Berthe Morisot.

I did not enjoy it and they did not come out the way I wanted. 

I believe that this is because of a few reasons, firstly I don’t usually paint with water colours and this would be done in that style.  Also this artist used oils so it was difficult to copy.  Secondly I found that the colour bled into the icing.

The other thing I think is that the taste of the food colouring would be too strong if you ate them (which I have not done yet).

I think I will stick to the more conventional way of decorating sugar cookies, line and flood with royal icing.  I really enjoy that. 

Here are pictures of the three I tried next to a copy of the painting I was trying to copy.  I think the one of the little girl with the red hair came out the best – the others are shocking! 

Painted iced cookie

 

Painted Iced Cookie

 

Painted Iced Cookie
9 thoughts on “Something new

  1. Far too much hard work in my opinion!

    You did a great job though, well done. And yes, too much food colouring definately taints the taste of the cookies – which defeats the object really!

I would love to hear from you

