Posted in Ordinarylife

Dream on!

There is this camera that I desperately want!  I go and enter their “daily giveaway” each and every day.  I stalk their Facebook page, look at the videos posted on their web site and generally just dream about the camera convinced that one day I WILL own one! 

However I am beginning to realise that it might not really be the camera that I am after.  I have a sneaky suspicion that I am after the lifestyle that it portrays.  Talk about powerful advertising!!  Somewhere in my subconscious think I feel that if I own one of these cameras that I will instantly be transformed into a skydiving, snowboarding, waterskiing, mountain climbing adventurer.  I will go to exotic places, try new exciting and adventurous things.  I will go stand-up-paddle boarding in the bluest of water.  I will go roaring down mountains on the purest of white powder.  I will climb high and exciting mountains (with no fear of heights).  I will be living the life I was sure I was meant to. 

But for now I will just live vicariously through the photos and videos that others are posting, dreaming of the day when it will be me!

This of course has nothing to do with me turning 40 next year and wishing that maybe, just maybe I should have done more of that kind of stuff when I was younger (or at least filmed it when I did).

The camera in question is a GoPro HD Hero 2, in case you were wondering.  The website is www.gorpro.com.  Visit the site at your own risk.

13 thoughts on “Dream on!

  1. I am pretty sure you are adventurous enough to try many of those extreme sports. I hope you get the camera and we get to see all the adventures you photograph with it.

    1. I would also love a SLR, but unfortunately Mr OL did not really understand the difference. For my last birthday he bought me a very nice camera, but not an SLR. I need to make do with that for now. I do have a old film SLR which I loved and still use every now and then.

    1. I know, I have a very good example of that in my mom. For her 60th we climbed Kilimanjaro….
      I think it is just at the moment I am finding it difficult to do the stuff I used to because of Little OL being so small. As she grows up it will be easier.

  2. You already sounded adventurous enough to me, actually. and hopefully, you could strap on Baby OL on you and keep doing more adventurous stuff. LOL! The vision that came to my mind was you skydiving with Baby OL strapped in front of you. Not realistic, I know:-)

    1. You are joking, but my friends and I were sitting around wondering how soon she will be able to come hiking with us, and can she go in one of those back pack things. Unfortunately the trail admininstrators said no….

I would love to hear from you

