Posted in Hobie Beach, Ironman, Ordinarylife, Swimming, Training, Triathlon, Wetsuit

Corporate Challenge

I know that there are many people in Port Elizabeth who complain about Ironman, about the road closures and the cyclists.  I understand (not really) their frustration however instead of sitting “trapped” in their houses why not get out and be part of it. Go to the nearest closed off road and see why and what is actually going on.  It might put it into perspective.  Or not…

For me I love it, I love the atmosphere and the build-up.  I love that they include so many people in various events before the “main” event on Sunday.  There is so much going on and most of PE’s people have really taken to it.  On the Friday they have the IronGirl, a 10km run.  On Saturday they have the Corporate Challenge as well as the Pritt IronKids.  I believe that both the Corporate Challenge and the IronKids are the largest of their kind around the world.

With the Corporate Challenge you can either choose to do it as a team event or as an individual.  I chose to do it as an individual as did one of the other ladies in our office.  We also entered a team.  It was the other girl’s first triathlon and a very good one to start with.  There are loads of people on mountain bikes, it is shorter than a sprint, people are not so concerned over their times and the support is fantastic.

With our medals

I totally loved it.  I am fitter than I thought and the weather and the sea were fantastic.

The distances are 10% of a full Ironman so:

380m Swim

18km Cycle

4.2 km Run

 

8 thoughts on “Corporate Challenge

  1. You two look like you had fun, awesome that you’ve taken the step up. Maybe one day i’ll see you on the big one.

    @mohebo

  2. This year the Mrs did the Irongirl and Megan did Ironkids. Megan asked me if I’m doing Ironman. Hahahahaha. Ja, sure. Next year I will make an extra effort to get a team together for Corporate IM

I would love to hear from you

