Posted in Baby OL, Children, Family, Ordinarylife, Parenting, Port Elizabeth, Running, Trail Running

Freedom of the open road

This week I was totally selfish and I loved it!  It was just what I needed.

Mr OL and I had decided to take the weeks leave and go on holiday.  Unfortunately at the last minute his leave was cancelled.  I mulled over the idea of cancelling mine too but in the end I decided to take it.  I am so glad I did.

Mr OL, Little OL and I still managed to get away for a long weekend to the Wild Coast and came back on the Tuesday.

Wild Coast – Wave Crest Beach Hotel

On Wednesday I started on my to-do list, which was as long as my arm. But first things first – I went for a 15km run. That was the start of a perfect day, which was the start of a couple of perfect days.

Perfect days in which I started on my to-do list (I got about ¾ of the way through it) and spent time by myself. ALL BY MYSELF!!!  I went for lunch on my own, I went shopping on my own.   I even drove to Alexandria and back on my own (to do a trail run, not just to go for a drive).  I loved it.  As I was driving I realised how much I missed just driving.  It’s been awhile.  I suppose when you are in a relationship you don’t just “get in your car and drive”.  In the end my music was turned up loud and I was bopping along.  What a privilege to be able to do that. To get in your car and drive.  Wow, I was appreciative.  It sounds really stupid I know, that the highlight of my week was a drive.  Not the spectacular trail run I did, or the elephants or the stunning scenery but to drive.  I suppose it is one of the things I have always loved to do. I used to just get in my car and drive to Plett, or Knysna or even Cape Town (when petrol was still cheap….) just by myself.  It is gives such a sense of freedom.

Elephants of Eden, Woody Cape MTB & Trail Run

 

I did a few other things this week, but will write about them separately.

 

9 thoughts on “Freedom of the open road

  1. Nothing like time out on your own to recharge your batteries.

    Sounds like you could tackle anything now!

    PS – what was wavecrest like btw?

    1. Wave Crest was really nice. They have upgraded some huts/rooms. The food was good, the linen white and clean and new. The view and scenery STUNNING.

  2. I love me time. Everybody needs to get away from it all although I find that a lot of people can’t do stuff all by themselves. Me? I don’t have a problem with that.

I would love to hear from you

