Posted in Knysna, Ordinarylife, Running, South Africa, weather

The race that wasn’t

Phew – it’s been a while… Hello.

So my second big race of this year was also a DNS (Did Not Start) and sugar coat it as much as you like that the race was actually cancelled and I therefore could not do it anyway I had decided to bail before the official cancellation came through.

I had been lying in bed listening to the rain and the wind thought there was NO WAY I was getting up to go and run a marathon in that.  Even more off putting than the running though was the standing outside, waiting for the taxi and then waiting at the start in the cold, wet and rain.  For those of you that don’t know the Knysna Marathon starts in the forest and to get there you need to take a taxi shuttle. The shuttles start running at 4:45 but the race is only at 7:00 (marathon) and 8:00 (21.1km).  So lots of waiting!

At about 3:30 and after BBM’ing my running partner who was elsewhere in the house, wide awake as well we decided not a friggin chance and went back to sleep.  To put me to total shame though my mom and sister both went to the start and where turned away – they did not bail.

I am pretty disappointed that I was not able to do this race.  It would have been my first stand alone marathon (not in an Ironman) and I was quite looking forward to it.

One of my friends decided to drive the route later in the day to see if it was actually necessary that they called off the race.  Below is a photo he took of a causeway that we would have had to cross… Yip, race organisers good call…. (Thanks to Mike Brewis for these photos)

Gouna Crossing 14 July 2012
Gouna Climb 14 July 2012
What would have been the finish line Knysna 14 July 2012
12 thoughts on “The race that wasn’t

  1. I was very disappointed that we couldn’t do the race but fully understand the conditions. The organisers could perhaps just handled it differently. We were up at 4:30 and went looking for the taxis just after 5am in the hope that it would still happen. I never got a cancellation sms.

  2. That is a LOT of water… Maybe you can call it a premonition and thats why your brain was all HELLS NO

  3. Hey, I’m so excited I located your blog. I was searching for African-relevant weblogs when I stumbled onto ur 1. I know that Africa is a big and splendid place, and I would just like to say well done for a great post and an all round exciting blog. I anticipate seeing a lot more from you in the near future, so please keep up the great posts!

  4. Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m looking to start my own blog
    soon but I’m having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

I would love to hear from you

