Posted in Ordinarylife

I love you, I love you all

What can I say, I am not that good at acceptance speeches…..  I did however win an award, thanks very much to Cat at Juggling Act of Life. She gave me a “Thanks for Writing” blog award.

The rules are that I have to tell you 7 things you don’t already know about me.  Pretty hard seeing as I have been bloggging for over 5 years.  So I guess you pretty much already know everything or you don’t because it is something I am not willing to share…. But here goes:

7 things you might not know about me….

  • I am scared of heights…. Just going into the bathroom at work freaks me out as the door opens above the stairwell.  I have to look the other way.  And yes, I do hike, do trail running and have climbed Kilimanjaro.  I try to “grin and bare it” and just keep moving until I have passed over the scary section.  I am generally fine as long as nobody tries to help me.  Just stand back and let me get through on my own.
  • I never thought I would get married; I did not see it in my future.  If I thought of how my life would map out there was never a significant other.  I was very vocal about this and if somebody started suggesting marriage in a relationship I left, however 3 weeks after meeting Mr OL we told our families we were getting married.  Mine was in total shock – his asked “to who?”  Next week will be our 5 year anniversary.
  • The 2.5kids, house in the suburbs, dog in the backyard thing freaks me out.  I have at total fear of being “ordinary” and yet, if you meet me that is exactly what I am.  I have 1 kid, 2 dogs, 2 cats, and house in the suburbs, a husband and the same job for the past 5 years!  When I started this blog the title was a bit of a personal joke – which kind of backfired.
  • For the first 12 years after finishing school I would only accept temporary jobs, anything too permanent would send me running – usually to a different country.  (Yip, commitment phobic!!)
  • My parents are Scottish
  • One of my main goals is to own at least 10 income generating properties by the time I retire.  I still have quite a way to go.

Then I need to nominate 5 – 10 bloggers that I admire. This part is quite hard too… Most of the blogs I read have already been nominated. If you have already, sorry.   This is in no particular order

Hayley – Everything in between.  Amazing photos that really capture her life, and I love the way she writes about her family and her love for her husband.

Lynette – A work in Progress.  Such an amazing and inspiring woman.  I have had the pleasure of meeting her and seeing the work her and her husband do.  I was even more blown away.

Jenty – The real Jenty.  I don’t know how she manages what she does.  Take the most amazing photos, raise two boys, hold down a full time job and do the reviews and things on various websites.  Very impressive.

Bronwynne – Keeping up with the Walkers – just because…. She just carries on with it, no moaning, no complaining  (much) and she is a fellow runner.

Cupcake Mummy. A single mom who is not scared to say how she feels on her blog.  I admire her openess and courage.

Mel – Lipgloss Ninja.  Also a trail runner.  We are similar in ages (yikes) and I would like to think that if we lived closer we would be friends.

There are so many more blogs that I read and love, but for now that is it.  I have run out of time.

Here’s what you need to do if I have nominated you:

1. Include the award logo in your post or on your blog
2. Say 7 random things about yourself that the readers don’t know yet
3.  Nominate 5 – 10 other blogs you usually follow
4. Let the nominees know that they are nominated & include their blog-links
5. Link the person who nominated you

 

 

6 thoughts on “I love you, I love you all

  1. OH goodness….this is what happens when you are a tardy blogger! Thanks so much for remembering me…even though I kinda suck at the moment … I have put LGN out to pasture but am blogging regularly at the homezone…FIVETRIBE! I will do this meme there…and YES…. we would most deffo be friends and be hitting them trails on weekends. 😉

I would love to hear from you

