Posted in Crafts, Family, Ordinarylife, Paintings

A fun project

Mr OL had these pair of bar stools that he refused to part with… They were old, the varnish was peeling off and they were covered in paint splatters – he called them his painting chair – from the days before he had a ladder.

They had pride of place in our entertainment area (we had nowhere else to put them and the skip was out of the question.  I figured that if he was not going to let me get rid of them I was going to make them a feature – and paint them red!

It was the first time I have tried to repaint furniture and as I wanted them glossy I decided to use spray paint.  I am not sure if I would do that again – or just opt for the more conventional paint brush next time, but I am really happy with how they turned out.

My steps were

  • Strip of all old varnish
  • Sand
  • Fill all cracks using wood filler
  • Spray paint – a number of coats were necessary (5 cans……)

Here are some photos

Before
Sanded and cracks filled – already looking better
After
Pride of place

The only thing I did not do is replace a missing cross bar.  I did not want to spend too much money on them incase I (or Mr OL) hated them.  Although initially sceptical about the red he loves them!

And its another thing crossed off my list.  The hardest part of this project was trying to find a windless day – yip PE has been living up to its name lately.

14 thoughts on “A fun project

  1. Love them! My sister did they exact same thing to hers…and now they look awesome. She uses them in her kitchen…and they are now a big feature in it.

  2. These look frikkin amazing – well done! No surprise that i adore the colour – anything else would never have worked – you had to GO BIG OR GO BIN with these stools!

I would love to hear from you

