Posted in Baby OL, Books, Children, Family, Ordinarylife, Quilting, Running, Sewing, Swimming

I don’t know what to write at the moment.  I usually feel like this when there is stuff going on that I can’t or don’t want to write about.  It detracts from all the stuff I am doing that I could actually write about.

What I can say however is that Little OL and I have been having fun!  Lots of it!  When Mr OL left I decided that I would say yes to more social engagements than I normally do.  I have been feeling like a rotten friend lately and thought I had better get my butt into gear so not only have I said yes to stuff, I have actually initiated stuff too.  Very proud of myself.  Normally I only see my friend that train or race – I need to make time for the others too.

Little OL and I have been to braais, dinner, breakfast, lunch and play dates.  On Heritage day I invited a friend and her two little boys around and we lit a fire – yes, girls doing it for themselves.  I of course sent Mr OL a photo of the fire  to make him jealous just to let him know we were doing ok …

I have also been to gym a couple of times and this weekend Little OL and I went swimming.  I really want to teach her to swim so thought there was no time like the present.  At first she would not even put her toes in the water but in the end she was jumping off the side into my arms and even going under.  I battled to get her out – definitely my child. We then went home and washed my car – and both ended up soaked through.

I have also made a start to the quilt that I am going to make from Little OL’s baby clothes.  I have cut all the squares – and boy was it hard to cut the first few.  All I kept thinking was “somebody could wear these”.  It got easier after I did a few.  I could not cut them all up though and gave quite a lot to our gardener whose wife has just had a baby girl.

Baby clothes cut for quilt

I am going running tonight and my mom is watching Little OL – so that should be fun.  It is our club time trail – 5kms.  I don’t think I will do as well as I did at the last one, but it will be fun to run.

In terms of a confession – I have to say that I finished 50 Shades of Grey…  My thoughts – it’s an easy read and I can see why some people are enjoying  it.  I must say though that it is not my normal style of book, it is not written particularly well, the story is predictable and the girl is annoying.  Let’s just see if it gets any better in book 2……. J.  In the books defence I am all for anything that gets people reading!  And this book is getting people that don’t normally read that much reading.  I have spoken to friends that have not read anything in a couple of years and they have finished all three books.  So well done to the author.  She has definitely done something right!

 

10 thoughts on “

  1. Wow, am very impressed you’re making a quilt! can’t wait to see the finished product. I don’t have the patience unfortunately.

    I read 50 shades in about 2 weeks. As you say the writing is poor, but i did enjoy the story line and Book 2 is def the best by far. But I do find her terribly annoying and the repetition of his/her sayings over and over again is enough to drive you dotty!

    One of my friends said that it had inspired her to be more active in the bedroom (and also experiment more) but i’m not sure nipple clamps are really my thing!

  2. I know the feeling. I too am going through such a similar stage in my life. Stuff I need to work through but can’t blog about and thus result in the writers block I’m having.
    We’re also teaching our kids to swim at the gym and it’s fun but also challenging.

    1. I can’t believe that she can’t just “get in and swim” it seems like it should be such a natural thing to do. Hopefully we are both successful soon in getting them all swimming.

  3. We all hit a stage where it is difficult to write. I loved reading this though and I am glad to hear that you and little OL are doing well and having lots of fun. Didn’t read 50 shades…if a book doesn’t grip me within the first pages, I ditch it…and if she is annoying…I know I wouldn’t finish it.

    1. Thank you. There are some books that I have no finished, this one I was surprised I did. I think it was the fact that one of my friends kept insisting that I read more to “get into it”

I would love to hear from you

