Posted in Family, Ordinarylife

Letters – Dear Pamela …

On Sunday I intended to do a bit of a mini spring clean but got a bit waylaid.  I came across old letters from my school days.  It was so odd and nice, some of the people I could not even remember meeting never mind receiving letters from.  I guess it is like now when you meet somebody, exchange numbers and get a couple of text messages and never hear from them again.

It was sweet, there were letters from my first boyfriend, even though we went to the same university and he lived only in Uitenhage. There were quite a few letters from girls I knew who lived in different parts of the country that I met up with on holiday and from people that had lived here but had moved away.  There were even letters from boys that I had met, but because they were either in boarding school or because I had really strict parents I did not get to see often.  I do remember using the “really strict parents” thing to my advantage when I did not really want to meet up.

It is sad that the “art” of letter writing is dying.  I know we “communicate” more now via email, text, skype or whatever but how many people actually keep this correspondence.  These letters didn’t say much but they gave me a glimpse into my teenage life.  It would have been fun to see what my replies to these letters were.  I can’t remember writing that many letters although I must have done as most of them start with the line of “got your letter, thanks” or something similar.

I do have the letters I wrote back to my parents – they kept those ones and gave them to me when I returned. They were fun to read but boy, did I write about rubbish. The rest was probably censored, seeing as I was writing to my parents…..

I am going to try and start letter writing again.  My sister is in Australia – I am sure that she would appreciate a hand written letter….. (or at the very least typed out and printed)

23 thoughts on “Letters – Dear Pamela …

  1. Letter writing was also my favorite thing before I discovered emailing. The suspense of waiting to see whether you get back a letter or not, is not something I like. Thus emails are the bomb now for me 🙂

    1. Emails have their place, I love the quickness and the ease of them. It was so nice though to be able to go back and page through those old letters. Our kids will not get that.

    1. I know, you just can’t get away.. and I have never even lived there. I have worked there, dates someone who lived there, and now have a husband that works there. It sucks you in….

      1. And if you lucky, it eventually spits you out!! I always remember the hoe..sit hot summers. Matriculated at Riebeek – 1990. In-laws still there, so’s my sussie … Love your artwork, by the way … do you have other pieces on the net?

      2. Nope, I don’t have my pictures anywhere else. I have sold a few but in galleries in PE and a few years ago, I have not tried to sell anything new lately and have not tried marketing them on the internet in anyway.

        My sister in law also went to Riebeek.

    1. I also write quite long emails to my sister (although not as often as I should) Maybe i should print them out and keep them – or at least back them up somewhere. It is a nice reminder of what is going on.

  2. Before email, I used to write letters to my best friend who is cross country from me. I had wanted to start up again, but it’s time consuming and I just wasn’t feeling it, so instead of letters I’ve begun writing note cards and sending them off to people. It’s short, sweet, and doesn’t take up much time… and it’s fun to get something in the mail that isn’t a bill or junk.

  3. I started Post Crossing last year. You register on postcrossing.com and it generates random people from all over the world to send postcards to. Your name then goes into the system and you will start to receive postcards as you send. I have received cards from all over the world.

I would love to hear from you

