Posted in Ironman, Ironman 70.3, Ordinarylife, Running, Sunshine Coast Triathlon, Training, Training, Triathlon

3rd in my Age Group!

Lately I have been running quite a bit and it is finally beginning to show in my times.  For those “runners” out there I know – still pretty slow. For me however it is fast, so just let me have my moment of glory and say “well done”.

This weekend I podium’ed!!!! Yes, for the first time since ever – or at least since I left school.  I cam 3rd in my age group and I was not even there to collect my prize.  I knew I was pretty far up the field but was not sure where I had come. It did help that there were three races, a 27km, a 10km and a 5 km so I am guessing that all the super quick girls did the 27km.  But – I am not going to look for justifications!! I came 3rd in my age group fair and square. I ran my fasted “stand-alone” 10km ever (yes, believe it or not I have actually done it quicker in a triathlon).and I got my first silver medal – which I only realised the next day when I was taking it out my car. That means that I finished in the top 100.  Today when I looked at my results I actually came 73 out of 306 people, so I am VERY happy.

Now I just need to work on my bike and I will be a happy girl!  At this rate I will not even make the bike cut-off and so my runs will be for nothing!  I have not ridden my bike (besides on the indoor trainer) since April!

19 thoughts on “3rd in my Age Group!

    1. I have done the full on in Port Elizabeth twice, but have not done the 70.3 in East London yet. I am registered to do it for the first time this year. I am more than happy to chat to him! If I could do the one in Port Elizabeth that first time I am sure that he would be able to do. How is his cycling as that is the hardest part – especially the East London one.

I would love to hear from you

