Posted in Baby OL, Children, Family, hiking, Ordinarylife, Parenting, Running, Training

Starting the year with a PB

My first race of the year went a whole lot better than my first race of last year – I am hoping that this is a sign of good things to come!

On Saturday my sister and I travelled through to Jeffery’s Bay to do the Woodlands Dairy 15km road race.  It went very well and as I passed the 5km mark I realised that it was my fasted 5km ever.  I also realised that those 5km’s were all downhill.  As it turns out the first 8km are all pretty much downhill.  That meant that the next 7 would all be up hill and I was expecting it to all turn pear shaped!  Well, they went a whole lot better than expected.  I walked only once (good for me on hills) and hit very close to a PB (Personal Best – for those non-runners) at the 10km mark and ended with a PB of over 2 minutes for 15km.  Ah happiness.

But, my running for the day was not over.  I bought Little OL a new pair of takkies earlier in the week and she has declared that they are her running shoes and that she now needs to run with mom.  When I got home we put them on, some shorts and tied her hair in to a pony. We then went for a “run” together – all the way around the block.  It was so cute!  She wanted to hold my hand and at the end asked for a high five! We really want to encourage the belief that sport is something you do for life and not just at school because it’s compulsory.  I hope that by the example we are setting she sees sport is something to be enjoyed and embraced.  I am very fortunate that my mom is still very active.  She still competes in races, goes on hikes and walks etc.  I have a great example that you are never too old, and hopefully I can pass this on as well.  That would be my best.

 

10 thoughts on “Starting the year with a PB

  1. Congratulations on your personal best….and it is so cute that baby OL is also into running…so sweet.

    Good news, Bidvest is organising a 10km fun run for the Mission at the beginning of April…hope you will be there.

  2. Congrats, that is so great. Here’s to many more PBs in 2013.

    Awww, your daughter is so sweet and it is definitely good to start them young and let them do it for fun and not just because they have to? And the high five (a big sign of achievement for a toddler) that must have been so cute

    Are you doing the half Iron-man in EL?

    1. This will also need to be a weekend thing. I do see it bring problems a well, as I won’t be able to do it every run. She is pretty good about not putting up much fuss when I go running, but now if she thinks she can come with each time it might be a bit different.

I would love to hear from you

