Posted in Baby OL, Crafts, Family, Ironman, Ironman 70.3, Ordinarylife

My word for 2013 – DO

A couple of years ago Lynette wrote that she chose a word for the year.  I think she has started a trend as I have been seeing it more and more.  This year I have decided to join in – my word for 2013 is “DO”.

At the end of last year I hired a life coach The Coachman – for a few sessions, it was one of the best decisions I have made in a very long time. I would highly recommend him.  One of the things he does is hold you accountable, so for example, if you say you are going to do something you need to “DO” it, at the next session he will confirm that you actually did it.  It can be one step in a process or a goal or whatever.

This resonated with me.  I often have an idea, or a thought, something I think I should do, but after a couple of hours or months I have done nothing about it.  This year I am going to “DO” something about those thoughts.  It is not that I want to do more stuff – in fact I actually want to do less, but I want to really focus on the ideas that I have.  I want to work out if they are viable, if they will add to my life, my marriage and my daughter.  If not, throw them out, but I want to have worked through them in a systematic way, step by step. The same with craft projects – I want to “DO” them. (no more unmade Christmas gifts)

So to this end I need to get organised.  I can’t function when there is chaos around me.  My first action this year was to declutter.  My second was to organise my home office and my 3rdwas to organise a crafting notebook.  I am going to write down all my craft projects – what it is that I require to finish them, when they need to be finished by and any other problems or requirement I might have along the way.  I also now have a file that has work in progress projects in it, so that I can easily go back to them as I get the time.

I love organisation, I love processes, I love to work through things – so this is what one of the things I mean by “DO

I also want to “DO” more life.  Mr OL and I are going to travel a bit this year and I would like to “DO” some races in different parts of the country.

However one of the things I am NOT going to DO this year is Ironman.  I must admit I was very tempted.  It is on my Birthday, my brother and sister are both probably going to do it again and I have a good fitness base.  I am however very happy with my decision (as I am sure  Mr OL will be when (if)  he reads this….)

 

PS:  The Coachman (Erich Jordan) is based in East London, but I did all the sessions over Skype so you can do it from anywhere.  His website is http:www.thecoachman.co.za.  I would highly recommend him.

14 thoughts on “My word for 2013 – DO

  1. I love your word. It is all about doing things smarter not doing more things. Kobus and I also want to do more of the things we love this year…travelling is among that.

  2. the one little word has been around for more than 6 years already. I thought it was Ali Edwards that started it but it may have been a pastor in the US. I downloaded a Kindle sample called My one word the other day – loved it – going to get the book.

    Edited – just bought it – I see it’s only $8.99 today – the other day it was $11,99

    Anyhoo, I love your word. In my coaching practice, I’m all about inspiring people to action so this thrills me to bits 🙂

I would love to hear from you

